Find Handbooks and Research Resources
Welcome! Please use the links below to navigate this page.
Selected Handbooks and Encyclopedias
The library collection includes a number of handbooks and encyclopedias of interest to students of public administration and public policy. Enter different combinations of terms in Scholar OneSearch to locate relevant materials. Sometimes, it can be helpful to add a publisher name to your search, especially when you're aware of a publisher's series like the Oxford Handbooks.
To streamline searches for handbooks and encyclopedias, select Catalogs rather than Catalogs and Articles as shown in the illustration below. Eliminating articles from the search simplifies the job of scanning a results list.
Some search examples include:
handbook public administration
encyclopedia public administration
oxford handbook public policy
oxford handbook governance
encyclopedia public policy
- Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new windowIn-depth introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship. Please note that Northeastern users have access to a selection of handbooks only. The database link will take users to our licensed handbooks.
Global Encyclopedia of Public Administration, Public Policy, and GovernancePublication Date: 2022
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by ISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2015This is a standard reference work across the social science disciplines. See especially the section of the encyclopedia devoted to Public Policy.
The Oxford Handbook of Classics in Public Policy and AdministrationISBN: 9780199646135Publication Date: 2015-2016
The Oxford Handbook of Global Policy and Transnational AdministrationISBN: 9780198758648Publication Date: 2019
Sage Research Methods
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of information for beginning and advanced researchers looking for the best methods to use in their research. Full access to Books & Reference, Cases Part 1, Datasets Part 1, and Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills.
Check the Project Planner for a tutorial on each stage of research:
- Overview
- Philosophy of Research
- Defining a Topic
- Reviewing the Literature
- Developing a Researchable Question
- Research Design
- Planning and Practicalities
- Research Ethics
- Data Collection
- Data Analysis and Interpretation
- Writing Up
- Dissemination
Sage Research Methods Help Page
Research Tutorials developed by the Northeastern University Library staff are also available. Check our “Bite-Sized Webinars” for information on student publishing, poster design, and citation tracking among other skills.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new windowLinkedIn Learning offers on-demand courses on business, creative, and technology skills. Interactive content for asynchronous learning. Although the content is oriented toward business applications, there are usual tutorials on survey and questionnaire design, interviewing, etc..
Need more help?
Please contact Roxanne Palmatier, librarian for the Policy School, Boston, Arlington, and Online or Lawral Wornek, librarian for Oakland.