Research Subject Guides: Public Administration: Explore Grants and Publishing

Public Administration : Explore Grants and Publishing

Explore Grants and Publishing

Welcome! Please use the links below to navigate this page.

Pivot (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) This link opens in a new window
A database of grants and other funding opportunities including federal U.S. government, private foundations, corporate and international funding opportunities all in one easy to search tool. Includes pre-populated scholar profiles. This tool requires logging in with your Northeastern credentials.
Users may search for funding opportunities and view matching faculty from inside or outside Northeastern University. Or, search for scholars and link to matching funding opportunities based on their research profiles. You may register and set up alerts whenever new funding sources are posted that match your criteria. Pivot replaces three previous COS (Community of Scholars) databases: Expertise, Funding Opportunities, and Scholar Universe.
Foundation Directory Professional (Candid) This link opens in a new window
Information about foundations and grantmaking institutions worldwide, with data about their grants and grant recipients. Useful for academic research on philanthropy as well as for identifying funding sources.
- Tutorial:Training video from Candid (Opens in new window) on YouTube

Choosing a Publication Venue
How Do I Know Where to Publish?
Twenty minute webinar created by Snell Library staff.
Open Access Publishing Page
Lists open access agreements/support available to members of the Northeastern community.
Directory of Open Access Journals
more...less...
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
How Can I Avoid Predatory Publishers?

Cabell's Predatory Reports This link opens in a new window
This database identifies deceptive and fraudulent journals. Specialists identify and analyze over 65 behavioral indicators to flag potentially exploitative or dishonest operations.
Journal Citation Reports (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
JCR is a widely used source of citation data, used to compare and evaluate scholarly journals. For example, the most well-known indicator in the JCR is the Journal Impact Factor (JIF). This measure provides a ratio of citations to a journal in a given year to the citable items in the prior two years. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:

Most frequently cited journals in a field
Highest impact journals in a field
Largest journals in a field

Includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Covers 1997-present.
Thomson Reuters/Web of Knowledge