Find Articles and News
Welcome! Please use the links below to navigate this page.
Digital Newspaper Subscriptions
- Financial TimesLondon-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU Boston email address.
- New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new windowNortheastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device.
- Nikkei Asia This link opens in a new windowCoverage of Asia's economic, political, business and technology news in English. Established with a goal to change the way the Asia is covered internationally and to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs.
Also includes data on financial markets and top companies in the region.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.
- Washington PostWashington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.
Other Digital News Platforms
- AtlanticThe Atlantic covers a broad range of topics including politics, society, the arts, and culture. The site includes content from 1857 to the present and includes audio, video and podcast extras.
- E&E News (Politico Pro) This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news on energy and the environment. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, GreenWire, E&E Daily, and E&E News.
- Economist This link opens in a new windowWeekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
- Foreign Affairs This link opens in a new windowFeatures articles and current news covering the political, historical and economic impacts of American foreign policy and global affairs; includes the full archive of Foreign Affairs Magazine 1922-present plus online-only content. Published by the Council on Foreign Relations.
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowGlobal news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
- Project Syndicate This link opens in a new windowA unique source of opinion pages from news outlets around the world. Good for debate and argument essays or to research a range of views on current events.
- Stat+ (Boston Globe Publishing) This link opens in a new windowNews about the biotech, pharmaceutical and life sciences industries, and public policy issues and analysis related to the life sciences and health. US focus, but global in scope. Access requires additional registration on the STAT+ site with a Northeastern email address.
Articles by Topic
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of international affairs, political science, public policy, and public administration. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowIn addition to coverage of a broad range of disciplines, JSTOR provides 41 titles categorized as Public Policy and Administration.
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch offers one-stop searching for books, e-books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. The default search, Catalog and Articles, is most inclusive. To focus your search on books, e-books, archives, streaming media, and other local resources, select the Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
- Public Administration Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scholarly and professional articles related to public administration, including public administration theory, structures and organization, and economic, political, and social aspects of administration. Links to full text where available. Coverage from 1964 to the present.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
- Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information, the majority in full text. Some video.
- ABI/Inform (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowProfessional and scholarly business and economics articles and reports. Business news and company, market, and brand information.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThe American Economic Association's electronic database and the foremost source of references to economic literature. Includes citations, abstracts, and selected full text from scholarly and professional literature from 1969 to the present.
- NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Economics Department
US-based private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Working papers have not undergone the review accorded official NBER publications; in particular, they have not been submitted for approval by the Board of Directors, but are intended to make results of NBER research available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication. 1973-present.
- Law360 This link opens in a new windowAvailable courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Up-to-date legal news focusing on business law. - MassTrac This link opens in a new windowMassTrac offers summaries and ability to track Massachusetts legislation, transcriptions of floor debates and public testimony, and voting records for all recorded votes. Includes historical data from 1995 to the present and detailed analysis of state budget proposals.
- State House News Service This link opens in a new windowSince 1911, the State House News Service in Boston has provided journalists, lobbyists, government officials and other civic and business leaders with high-quality, comprehensive, objective information about the activities of state government year-round.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSearch federal and state court cases, statutes and codes as well as European Union laws and regulations. Secondary sources include the American Law Reports and the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, law reviews, journals, and newspapers.
- Tutorials: Find cases and articles in Westlaw (video) or see a PDF version
- CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information for thousands of publications. Covers nursing and 17 allied health disciplines, going as far back as 1937. Links to PDFs or full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
- Health Administration Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowCollection of 800 key journals plus dissertation and other publications covering the field of health administration: management, insurance, ethics, and more. Mostly full text or with links to full text for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- Public Health Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowCore public health literature with access to 500 full-text publications and 9,000 dissertations as well as research reports and newspaper articles.
- PubMed (NU customized) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source of journal literature in the life sciences and biomedicine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes selected full text from PubMed Central, and NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed is a free web resource, however this version contains links to Northeastern-subscribed journals that require a login.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDrawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource containing nearly 300,000 records, with full text for selected titles, and searchable cited references with library links for more than 200 additional titles
- Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new windowThe flagship journal "Nature" is the most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal; NU's subscription includes a number of sister titles.
- ScienceDirect Books and Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowAccess to Elsevier ebooks and select scholarly journals covering biomedical science and medicine, pharmacology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences and more.
- Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of publications in Civil Engineering. This login version has links to Northeastern Library's full text subscriptions.
- Compendex & INSPEC This link opens in a new windowCombines a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with a comprehensive database of physics, computer science and electrical engineering research.
- Transportation Research Board Publications This link opens in a new windowInclude reports on planning, administration, and environment; design; materials, construction, and maintenance; operations and safety; aviation; public transit; rail; freight transportation (multimodal); and marine transportation.
See also the Digital Newspaper Subscriptions and News Platforms listed at the top of this page.
- Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOur largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.
- Northeast Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowA subset of Proquest Newsstream that allows searching of newspapers and other news outlets in New England, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and some mainstream Washington, DC outlets.
- Proquest Newsstreams (U.S., Canada, International) This link opens in a new windowLocal, regional and global newspapers, newswires, and blogs. Generally text only.
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowBusiness publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- USA - Source Locator Map (part of Access World News)USE THIS MAP TO NAVIGATE TO USA COLLECTION BELOW.
- USA News Collection (part of Access World News)Provides access to a variety of city newspapers and media outlets.
- Boston Globe (link to all Northeastern Library access points) This link opens in a new window
- Boston Metropolitan CollectionPart of Access World News. See individual titles below.
- Boston Herald Collection (Part of Access World News)!991-present. Article images available from 2018 to present; text only, 1991-2017.
- Boston Business Journal This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library
Boston business news, research, and events. Registration with an @northeastern.edu email address is required. Once registered, users can sign in directly on the Boston Business Journal site.