Cold War - History - United States - Research Subject Guides at Northeastern University

U.S. Foreign Policy: Primary Sources

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)(Office of the Historian, U.S. Dept. of State)
The FRUS series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity, through the Clinton Administration. These are historical papers and don't cover present day events. Browse by administration, or click "tips for searching" and then "search" then check "historical documents."
Foreign Relations of the United States, 1861-1980 (Hein)

Digital National Security Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Founded by journalists and scholars, the National Security Archive promotes open government by acting as a clearinghouse for declassified information. Primary source materials: declassified government documents, chronologies, images, bibliographies, and explanatory essays on topics related to national security.
Northeastern users have access to 44 collections, each with thousands of documents and maps covering critical world events, countries, and U.S. foreign policy from post-World War II to the present. Information in the DNSA subscription database is updated by materials on the National Security Archive website at George Washington University, which includes the latest FOIA released documents, and documents released pursuant to lawsuits.

National Security Archive Virtual Reading Room
A partnership between a journalism nonprofit and George Washington University, this project attempts to declassify federal documents relating to security and foreign policy. Some are freely available online at this site.
National Security Archive Sourcebook (George Washington Univ.)
These documents are grouped for easy access, and include original documents about the Able Archer War Scare, Iraq War, and 9/11.

Office of Strategic Services - State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961 (Proquest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
3500 reports written by experts in the State Department and OSS (Office of Strategic Services, precursor to the CIA). An excellent source for studying the major areas of the World and diplomatic history from 1941 to 1961.

Wilson Center Cold War History Project
Part of the Wilson Center archive, this includes a blog with updates on new research, sources and methods, podcasts, and links to Wilson Center documents.
Wilson Center Digital Archive
International foreign policy documents focusing on the Korean War, the Cold War, and Nuclear Proliferation

Sixties : Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 19601974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Focus on the United States.

CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law
Working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 1991 to the present.

Foreign Affairs (Ebsco)
A journal focusing on diplomacy and international affairs.
Foreign Policy
An American news publication