Media representation often says a lot about how a society treats different groups. Use the resources below to explore disability and accessibility in media.
Article Databases
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowAn online resource for high-quality images in the areas of art and architecture, curated from museums, archives, and institutions around the world. Now retired as an independent site and folded into JSTOR Images. Links to content on Artstor will be redirected automatically for the next year. As a best practice, we recommend using the JSTOR stable URLs for updating links to individual content items from course pages and syllabi.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles.
- Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations to scholarship in areas related to communication and mass media, including new media, rhetoric, film, broadcasting, and more. Peer-review filtering. Links to full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowUS and UK trade magazines (1880-2000) covering the vaudeville era to the internet era. Includes Billboard, Variety, Broadcasting, Melody Maker and much more
Film Databases
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowA curated collection of films for the Northeastern community, including feature films as well as high-interest documentaries. You may use Scholar OneSearch to find out if Northeastern has a particular film. Closed captions and transcripts included. Films provided by HBO and Neon Films cannot be viewed outside of the U.S.
- Films on Demand (FMG) This link opens in a new windowOver 200 films are available. Please let us know if you would like to suggest a film.Films include closed captions and transcripts.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowDigital Campus, provided by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc. provides students streaming access to course-related films. These films are licensed for one year and do not come with public performance rights.
LISTEN Movie
- Listen Movie"A short film in which nonspeaking autistic people talk about how nonspeakers are represented in books, theatre, and film. They provide guidance for changing the narrative. Learn more and access transcripts, translations, and a toolkit here: CommunicationFirst.org/Listen/"
Books
Cognitive Disability Aesthetics: Visual Culture, Disability Representations, and the (In)Visibility of Cognitive Difference (Opens in new window) by ISBN: 9781487502331Publication Date: 2018Cognitive Disability Aesthetics explores the invisibility of cognitive disability in theoretical, historical, social, and cultural contexts.
