Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Welcome! For additional options, visit our comprehensive list of resources or consult a Subject Librarian or discipline-specific Subject Guide.
Scholar OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of political science, public policy, and international relations. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
May also be searched as part of the Social Sciences Premium Collection.
Use PolicyFile to locate reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
JSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including public policy and public adminstration, urban studies, and transportation studies. The collection is now being updated to include articles published in recent years.
Sage Research Methods
Supports researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to
writing up and publishing the findings.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
Combined search of multiple databases; includes coverage of political science, international relations, and policy as well as , sociology, criminology, education, and social services.
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
EIU is produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit. Contents include Country Reports, Country Profiles, Country Commerce, Country Finance, and a number of newsletter articles.
Useful for political economy, public finance, and budgetary policy as well as materials on development and globalization.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to citation data for a large collection of high-impact journals across the disciplines.
Homeland Security Digital Library - HSDL is a major collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. This resource provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations, local agencies and state agencies.
The Economist is Here!
The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present. (Audio and Apps sections are not included in our subscription.)
Europa World Plus
One of the premier sources of country information. In addition to extensive coverage of individual countries and territories, Europa covers international and regional organizations, commodities, and selected biographical and directory information. Continuous updating of geopolitical developments, including election results is provided.
Access World News
International and domestic news coverage. Dates vary by title, but some sources go back to the late 1970’s. On the Access World News homepage, you’ll find a Political Science portal.
Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw Campus Research includes primary legal sources (including state and federal cases, the United States Code Annotated, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register and European Union Law) as well as law reviews, journals, the American Law Reports series and American Jurisprudence.
Streaming Video Collections
Academic Video Online (AVON) offers videos of interest to a broad range of disciplines.
Watch complete videos or create playlists and clips in both Kanopy and AVON.
Kanopy provides a broad range of documentaries across the disciplines. See especially the Global Studies, and Social Sciences areas.
Docuseek provides a number of documentaries of interest to political science, including political history, political economy, and political philosophy.
Featured Resource CQ Voting and Elections
CQ Voting and Elections
A database of elections data and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.
Key Data Resources
ICPSR is a membership based, non-profit data archive located at the University of Michigan; it is one of the world's largest social science archives. Access to datasets and related studies on a wide variety of topics. NU students may set up a myData account to download datasets and supporting documentation.
iPoll (Roper Center)
Database of the Roper Center at Cornell University. Provides data from national opinion polls, 1935 to present.
Data Citation Index (1900 to current)
The Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world.
This mapping application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, health, crime, and marketing data variables.
Need more help?
Please e-mail Roxanne Palmatier, library contact for Political Science and International Affairs.