Skip to main content
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
From Christine Oka, African-American Studies, Anthropology, and Sociology Librarian
Anthropology | Maps:
• Harvard Geospatial Library (HGL)
Has open access GIS "layers" available for download and provided "in a consistent, open format so they can easily be used by many different software packages without the need for translation."
African-American Studies | Selected Open Access Journals:
From Debra Mandel, Cinema Studies and Music Librarian
Scores and Archive Material:
From Joan Omoruyi, Engineering and Physics Librarian
Scirus.com (Open Access)
A web search engine focusing on scientific information. More Info
Transportation Research Board Publications (Open Access)
The books, reports, and miscellaneous publications of the Transportation Research Board cover nine general subject categories: planning, administration, and environment; design; materials, construction, and maintenance; operations and safety; aviation; public transit; rail; freight transportation (multimodal); and marine transportation.
Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) (Open Access)
Updated almost daily, TRIS is one of the largest databases of published transportation research. It contains more than 640,000 records of journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, and books on all modes and disciplines of transportation. Modify searches; print, download and e-mail search results in a variety of formats. RSS feeds; share records & search with Web 2.0 applications.
TRIS Online offered by the National Transportation Library is no longer accessible.
From Amanda Rust, English & American Literature Librarian
Selected Open Web Primary Sources:
(Check out Amanda's Primary Sources page on her Research Guide for listings by era!)
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Includes historic U.S. Newspapers, links to international collections, the rich American Memory collection, photographs, early sound recordings, manuscripts, and more.
The Online Books Page
A listing of over 35,000 free books on the web, maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. Also includes listings of online serials (magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc.)