Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Theatre Plus offers video of full-length performances from the English stage, including Shakespeare, modern dramas, musicals, and adaptations, as well as supplementary material such as interviews, behind-the-scenes documentaries, and study guides.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online: Premium is designed to bring the highest-quality video content to the broadest range of subject areas. Search for BroadwayHD or navigate to the BroadwayHD collection to watch performances.
BBC Shakespeare Plays Online
The entire BBC Shakespeare, produced in the 1970s and 1980s. These productions include some of Britain’s most distinguished performers, and productions range from quite traditional to more adventurous. View the plays in their entirety, or link to specific Acts for teaching and presentation.
Kanopy offers a wide array of videos available for streaming, including Criterion Collection, international and Oscar-nominated films.
National Film Registry
The National Film Registry is a list of movies deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant" that are earmarked for preservation by the Library of Congress. They are selected as works of enduring importance to American culture. They are historical documents which reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times. The Library of Congress does not endorse the views expressed in these movies, which may contain content offensive to users.
Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library
The Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library (HIDVL) is the first major digital video library of performance practices in the Americas. Created in partnership with NYU Libraries and with the support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, this growing repository guarantees historical preservation and free, online access to almost 900 hours of video through the Hemispheric Institute website.
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
Diverse American recorded music, from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond, available for streaming.
Search Jazz Music Library and Smithsonian Global Sound together for an international collection of streaming music. Includes the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.
Naxos Music Library
Over 85,000 tracks, emphasizing classical, but also including world music, jazz, folk, and more, available for streaming.
Smithsonian Global Sound
An international network of music audio archives grounded in the mission of the Smithsonian's Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage. Offers access to the "smaller voices" of people all over the world via digital downloads.
Mondays with Merce: Merce Cunningham Dance Company
This online series of video webisodes explores the work of Merce Cunningham (1919-2009) and the artists associated with the Merce Cunningham Dance Company.
NYPL Digital Galleries in Arts & Literature
Rich collections of digitized material from Italian and Indonesian dance, Broadway marquees, theatre actors and actresses, more.
Billy Rose Theatre Collection Photograph File
"Tens of thousands of photographs of actors and actresses, in character and as themselves, from the 19th century to recent years." From the New York Public Library for Performing Arts.
Vandamm Theatrical Photographs, 1920s - 1957
Thousands of images that serve as a sampling of an archive of more than 75,000 images of theatrical personalities and productions. An near comprehensive documentation of New York theatre during that time, from the Vandamm archive at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.