Theatre and Performing Arts : Find Academic & News Articles

Core index for literature, folklore, language, linguistics, with good coverage of additional topics like film, music, and theater. Over 2 million citations to journal articles, books, proceedings, book chapters, and dissertations. dating 1926 to present.

One of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes Artstor images of art and primary source artifacts.

Full articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, including religion, literature, philosophy, cultural studies, women's studies, film and the arts.

Citations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information from current publications in the fields of visual, and applied arts. Links to full text.

Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources, plus millions of article and book records from the Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records).

Supported by the U.S. Dept. of Education, one of the largest education databases with citations to journals, books, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Particularly useful for research on teaching the arts, and arts programs in education.

American Psychological Associations flagship PsycINFO database includes citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage from 1888 to the present. Full text links for Northeastern-subscribed materials.

Useful for up-to-date article searching, forward citation, including articles and some books and e-books. Links to Northeastern full text View our tutorial to learn more.

Text-only online, easily-searchable news and commentary focused on Washington DC, federal government news, and international news.

Our largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.

Also known as the London Times. Access not including the Sunday edition from 1785. An invaluable source for primary historical research on Great Britain and its interests.

Use Ulrich's Web to check if an article you have found through a database is from a peer-reviewed journal. First, type in the name of the journal into the main search bar. Then, look for the referee icon to the left of the journal title. This will indicate that the journal is refereed, or peer-reviewed. Please note that editorials and book reviews are not considered peer-reviewed articles even though they are published in a peer-reviewed journal (they do not undergo the same publishing process).