Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Works
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
Explore rich multimedia online collections in music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress.
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays
Essential information on the 1,000 best-known, best-loved, in world theatre with details on author, date of writing, date of first performance, genre, setting, and composition of cast; there is also a summary of the play's plot, and a brief commentary.
The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance
Covers styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers.
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre
A standard reference source covering playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and much more.
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical
Covers musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, and much more. Numerous musicals written specifically for television appear throughout, and many entries follow a work as it moves across genres, from stage, to film, to television.
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance
Provides all the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the diverse dance scene of the 21st century. It includes entries ranging from classical ballet to the cutting edge of modern dance.
Oxford Music Online
Accesses articles on musical theatre and dance from multiple encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online offers one-stop searching for Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. These sources may also be searched individually.
Literature Resource Center
Biographical and critical overviews of many dramatists, together with critical reactions to their works and bibliographies for further research. Excellent starting place, but not exhaustive.
The History of Costume
The "History of Costume" or "Zur Geschichte der Kostüme" was printed from 1861 to 1880 in Munich and contains 125 pages, with four pictures per pages, for a total of 500 costume designs. These plates consist of historical dress from antiquity to the end of the 19th century. Suggested by the Senior Drama History Class from Colonial Academy, Spring 2012.
History of Theatre
An interactive timeline provided by the academic publisher Glencoe/McGraw Hill. Use to compare theatrical movements to events in world history. Suggested by the Senior Drama History Class from Colonial Academy, Spring 2012.