Key Nutrition Databases
Supplemental Search Tools
There are many additional tools available for searching the literature. The tools mentioned below can be valuable in surfacing relevant literature. However, one must keep in mind: many of these tools are built on open access published literature (papers which are not behind paywalls). Search tools which rely only or primarily on open access literature may give an incomplete view of existing research.
Consider these tools to be additional strategies, rather than replacements for "gold standard" databases such as PubMed.
Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered search and discovery tool. It uses machine learning techniques to extract meaning and identify connections from within papers. Its corpus of papers is considerable, but not comprehensive. Semantic Scholar sources papers from open access journals and a variety of publishing partners. One unique feature of Semantic Scholar is 'Research Feeds', which are an adaptive research recommender that uses AI to quickly learn what papers you care about reading and recommends the latest research to help you stay up to date.
When using Elicit, you write your query as a question, and Elicit outputs relevant articles and summarizes key information from the articles. Elicit relies on the same language models which underwrite ChatGPT, with additional models and algorithms unique to Elicit. For its corpus of articles, Elicit relies on Semantic Scholar. Elicit operates on a ‘freemium’ model. So as a free user, one will have a limit on how many times you can search, and you will not have access to every feature by default. That said, even in its free version, one may find Elicit to be useful when reviewing the literature.
Scite.ai is a subscription product, an AI-assisted tool for discovering, contextualizing, and understanding research. Scite uses deep learning algorithms and natural language processing techniques to analyze the text and citation metadata of scientific papers. Scite's Smart Citations describe the context of individual citations, both where in the article the citation occurs and whether the article provides supporting or contrasting evidence. Scite included a variety of tools including a browser extension, custom dashboards, PDF uploader, and search. Learn more about how Scite was built in this MIT Press article.
Research Rabbit is a freely available citation-based literature mapping tool. It uses ‘seed papers’ to locate additional relevant literature via citation and collaboration networks. Read an in-depth review of Research Rabbit. PDF overview and brief tutorial from James Cook University.
LitMaps is another citation-based literature mapping tool, which operates on a 'freemium' model. Like Research Rabbit and Connected Papers, LitMaps uses ‘seed papers’ to locate additional relevant literature via citation and collaboration networks. LitMaps' database uses open access metadata from Semantic Scholar, CrossRef, and OpenAlex.
Connected Papers is another citation-based literature mapping tool which operates on a 'freemium' model. Like LitMaps and Research Rabbit, LitMaps uses ‘seed papers’ to locate additional relevant literature via citation and collaboration networks. Connected Papers uses the Semantic Scholar database for its corpus. Learn more about Connected Papers.
Looking for a Specific E-journal?
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Over 2 million entries, ProQuest Dissertations is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. More than 600,000 dissertations are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Digital Dissertations at NU
Includes Doctoral Dissertations and Theses from NU degree candidates and submitted to ProQuest's national thesis clearinghouse. Most are full text.