Skip to main content
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Key Nutrition Databases
Welcome! For additional options, visit our comprehensive list of resources! Looking for a specific e-journal? Search by journal title in the E-Journals A to Z list. Looking for books on your topic? Try Scholar OneSearch. Use the filters on the left for books and e-books. Need background information on your topic? Try Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition.
Please note: Use of databases from off-campus requires logging in with your myNortheastern account user name and password.
The world's most comprehensive index for nursing & allied health journals, indexes 5,300 journals; providing full text for more than 1,400 journals. Covers 1937-present.
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day with more than 32+ million records from 8,200 journals and ‘grey literature’ from over 2.4 million conference abstracts. Embase includes unique non-English content and coverage of the most important types of evidence, such as randomized controlled trials, controlled clinical trials, Cochrane reviews and meta-analyses.
Web of Science
Citation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, are available in this multidisciplinary database covering over 10,000 high impact research journals. Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing your work, measure the influence of someone's work, and navigate forward, backward and through the literature of your discipline.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
uthoritative information on biomedicine and health, also including some nursing, dentistry, veterinary, health policy, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. The majority of the publications covered are scholarly journals, a small number of newspapers, magazines and newsletters are also included.
Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy.
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill is an online medical resource that provides access to more than 100 leading medical texts, videos by system & category, self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource for pharmacy education. The source includes curriculum topics, organ systems, textbooks, drug monographs, lab tests, calculators, videos, case studies, and more.
a comprehensive full-text online learning tool, featuring 42 core physical therapy texts, 500+ videos and narrated lectures in orthopedics, neurology and sports medicine, demonstrations of examination & treatment techniques. Also includes a cadaver dissection tool, modalities & therapeutic goals, search core topics for interventions, functional limitations, goals, A & A, case studies and more.
ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving users access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images.
Lexicomp provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination--New!
Expanded Access to Resources During COVID-19
Publishers have made the following resources available to the NU community temporarily. Northeastern University credentials are required for access.
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5 (DSM-5) is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders. The DSM-5 is part of the recently purchased package called PsychiatryOnline Premium. Connect to DSM-5