Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Architecture: Boston Architecture & Urban Planning

A guide to resources and research in architecture, landscape architecture, sustainable building, and the urban landscape.

Researching Boston Architecture

To find information about Boston architecture and buildings, you may need to consult a wide variety of sources: books, newspapers, archival collections, image collections, and government or organization websites.

Boston Architecture Books

Both recent and older architecture books contain valuable illustrations, plans, photographs, details, and sections, as well as narrative details of buildings and their construction. Search Scholar OneSearch for books and e-books.

Here are some examples:

Images of Boston Architecture

Boston Architecture at NU Archives and Special Collections

The Archives and Special Collections Department houses and makes available primary source materials in both print and digital form. The Northeastern University Historical Collections include the records and publications of the University. The Special Collections preserve the history of Boston's social movements and community organizations, as well as Boston's public infrastructure, neighborhoods, and natural environments. 

Explore collections related to: