Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Key Resource: ARTstor
A premier image database, including a digital library with over a million high-quality, authoritative images in the areas of art, architecture, photography, and the humanities and social sciences. Image management and presentation tools are available.
Finding Images Through Books
Books are often a strong source of images - plans, sections, photographs, drawings, diagrams, and more - of specific buildings and structures. Search by building name, architect, region, and/or time period in Scholar OneSearch:
Finding Images Using the Avery Index
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)
You can search Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals to locate articles published in architecture or design focused journals or magazines that include plans, sections, drawings, etc. Click on Advanced Search and type in a building, concept, or architect on which you would like to find related images. Under the Document Feature options, select the appropriate filter and click Search. This should return results for articles that include those specific types of images. Once you find a relevant article, use the "Check for full text" button for access options to the article and its images.
Cultural Heritage Platforms
Digital Public Library of America
Search by keyword across digitized photographs, drawings and more from many of America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions in this centralized platform.
Search by keyword across digitized items from collections held in many European archives, libraries, and museums through this centralized platform.
Images at the Northeastern University Archives & Special Collections
The Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections are committed to documenting the history of Northeastern University and the history of Boston's social movements, including civil and political rights, immigrant rights, homelessness, and urban and environmental justice. The records document the history of Boston's African American, Chinese, LGBTQ, Latinx and other communities, as well as Boston's public infrastructure, neighborhoods, and natural environments.
Worldwide Image Resources
ArchNet Digital Library
Focuses on architecture of Islamic cultures and nations.
Architecture in Latin American (LANIC)
From the University of Texas, Latin American Network Information Center.
Covers Egyptian, Greek, Roman, Byzantine, Armenian, Romanesque, Gothic, and Islamic architecture.
Built in America
Historical American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey - These surveys documents American architectural, design, and engineering projects, 1933 to the present. The digitization of this project is ongoing with images added each month.
SAH Archipedia Classic Buildings (Free version)
This free resource from the Society of Architectural Historians offers authoritative information on over 1000 US buildings by location, architect, period and style, building type, materials, and more.
RIBApix: Database of Images
From RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects). Image database covering world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts. Many of the images are also of social documentary importance.