Welcome
This page serves as an introduction to resources on Religion and Spirituality.
The Northeastern University community members observe a wide range of sacred season and holy days. Northeastern University Center for Spirituality, Dialogue, and Service keeps a list of of dates observed on campus or places of worship in the Greater Boston Area.
For in-depth resources and information on specific subjects and how to access print and electronic library resources please visit the research subject guides.
- Jewish Studies Research Guide
- Middle East Studies Research Guide
- Religion Research Guide
Research
These tabs offer a small selection of resources on religion and spirituality. For more recommendations see this list of more resources or explore the Snell Library website.
Encyclopedia of Religion 2 by
Religious faith takes many forms. Throughout the centuries and around the globe, the human response to the divine has given rise to a large number of important religions. This encyclopedia provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the religions of the world and to the concepts, people and events that shaped them.
ISBN: 9780028659978Publication Date: 2005-03-01
African American Religions, 1500-2000 by
This book provides a narrative historical, postcolonial account of African American religions. It examines the intersection of Black religion and colonialism over several centuries to explain the relationship between empire and democratic freedom. Rather than treating freedom and its others (colonialism, slavery and racism) as opposites, Sylvester A. Johnson interprets multiple periods of Black religious history to discern how Atlantic empires (particularly that of the United States) simultaneously enabled the emergence of particular forms of religious experience and freedom movements as well as disturbing patterns of violent domination. Johnson explains theories of matter and spirit that shaped early indigenous religious movements in Africa, Black political religion responding to the American racial state, the creation of Liberia, and FBI repression of Black religious movements in the twentieth century. By combining historical methods with theoretical analysis, Johnson explains the seeming contradictions that have shaped Black religions in the modern era.
ISBN: 9780521198530Publication Date: 2015-08-06
Encyclopedia of the Qur'an by
A RUSA 2007 Outstanding Reference Title The Qur'an is the source of inspiration for one of the world's major religions, followed today by over a billion people. It plays a central role in Islam and ever since it appeared fourteen hundred years ago has been the subject of intense debate. Some of this has been carried out by Muslims and some by those hostile or indifferent to Islam, producing a very wide range of views. Authored bynbsp;forty-three international experts, the objective of The Qur'an: An Encyclopedia is to present this diversity of thought, approach and school without priority, in order to give a strong appreciation of the range of response that the text has provoked throughout its history and providing students and researchers with a powerful one-volume resource covering all aspects of the text and its reception. Islam and the Qur'an are much in the news today and there is a public debate going on in which things are said about the Qur'an without much knowledge or understanding of the book. Every effort has been made to help the reader use the Encyclopedia as an investigative tool in Quranic studies. The volume assumes no previous knowledge of the Qur'an, Islam or Arabic. Technical terms are explained in the text itself and the style of each entry is designed to be as self-contained as possible. Entries are cross-referenced and many include a brief bibliography. At the end of the work there is a substantial annotated bibliography providing a detailed guide to the most significant books, journals and articles in Qur'anic Studies. There is a full index. The readership will include those seeking basic information on the Qur'an, however the substantial number of longer entries means that it will also be used by specialists.
ISBN: 9780203176443Publication Date: 2006-05-02
- ATLA Religion Database (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowResearch scholarly articles and books on biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Links to full text for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures. 22 volumes in print, 2nd ed. 2007
- Encyclopaedia of Islam (Brill) This link opens in a new windowAll three editions of the encyclopedia, with extensive well-sourced essays on historical, biographical and religious information.
- Jewish Studies Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowOver 350 full-text titles including academic journals, abstracts of monographs, newspapers and periodicals, including complete Jewish Telegraphic Agency wire service articles from 1922 to the present.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFull text selected scholarly journal articles and professional news in world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Mostly full text PDFs, or with links to Northeastern-subscribed journals.
Access the Pew Research Center Religion & Public Life resource or click the graphic above.
The Publications link includes Pew Research Center survey reports, demographic studies and data-driven analysis.
- On Being by Krista Tippett - On Being explore the intersection of spiritual inquiry, science, social healing, community, poetry, and the arts.
Northeastern Resources
We invite you to explore different organizations available at Northeastern University and in our surrounding communities:
Links to Northeastern University programs:
Northeastern Organizations:
Northeastern University's Center for Spirituality, Dialogue, and Service attends to the spiritual needs of the Northeastern community. The Center builds partnerships across university departments and disciplines—and with religious communities and public service agencies locally, nationally, and internationally—to help students become engaged citizens, peace builders, and leaders equipped to tackle pressing global problems.
The Center for Spirituality, Dialogue, and Service serves a vibrant and diverse community of religious, spiritual, and related groups. You can view the complete directory of student groups to learn how to become a part of these vibrant communities.