ARTH 2212: Survey of the Still and Moving Image : Photo, Film, and Comics Collections

The International Center of Photography an institution dedicated to photography and visual culture, and founded in 1974 by Cornell Capa. Its permanent collection contains more than 200,000 prints and related materials that range from the earliest forms of photography to contemporary work.

This database of digitized materials from the NYPL's collections includes prints, photographs, videos, and more.

Digitized collections of photographs held by the Library of Congress' collection of photographs.

Digitized photographs and more from many of America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions in this centralized platform. The Photography topic section includes collections focused on the development of photography, science and art photography, citizen photographers, and more.

Digitized items from photograph collections held in many European archives, libraries, and museums through this centralized platform.

Moving images uploaded to the Internet Archive, a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. This archive includes news station clips, US government films, silent films, and more.

The George Eastman Museum, founded in 1947, is independent nonprofit institution with a photography museum and film archives. The museum holds collections in the fields of photography, cinema, and photographic and cinematographic technology, and photographically illustrated books.

The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum's collection documents American printed cartoon art. The scope of the collection includes: editorial cartoons; comic strips; comic books; graphic novels; sports cartoons; magazine cartoons. View images of the cartoons, comic strips, and other collection items that have been digitized to date in their digital collections.