Skip to main content

Shakespeare Research: Articles

Scholarly or Not?

You will need to be able to draw a distinction between literary analysis in the popular press ( New York Times) and literary analysis in academic journals (Victorian Studies).

Our online chart Types of Periodicals describes the differences between popular, trade, and scholarly publications.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a powerful tool but should be used with two major caveats:

  • It does not "know" about all publications out there.  Library databases will often "know" about a smaller number of different and more scholarly sources.
  • Searching is broad but messy, and does not have reliable ways to limit by date, type of document, or major subject areas.
  • Finding full-text of many articles requires your library having paid for that full-text.

For more information, see our library page on Google Scholar. For research in literature, compare the two searches below, and see the advanced searches available in MLA to the right.

Sample Searches in MLA

You may not always find a perfect article with an exact title reflecting your topic. Rather than find an article called "An Overview of Translations of Othello in the 19th Century", you may find an article that says something interesting about the 19th century and translation, and connect it to Othello yourself.

The following links show how to construct a few searches in the MLA Bibliography using advanced limiters; however, you must choose the articles most relevant to your thesis, and use those articles to brainstorm more search terms for finding additional articles.

Scholarly Article Databases for Shakespeare

Theatrical Reviews

For more options see our full list of newspaper databases. In each of these databases you may need to use the advanced search features and limit by date.

Sample Searches in World Shakespeare Bibliography