Shakespeare Research : Digital Collections

Full text of 100,000 early English works dating between 1475-1700, including digital images of some of the earliest of William Shakespeare's texts.

From the Schoenberg Center at Penn, scanned images of Shakespeare's plays and poems (from the 16th, 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries). Includes works from many other authors, and typically good provenance detail. Also the home of excellent tutorials on major textual issues concerning Shakespeare's plays.

Studies of the stage texts used in various seventeenth-century performances of Shakespeare's plays. Presented as page images and transcription, containing the introduction, collations, and acts as found in the print version.

Permanent access to all kinds of literature and formats, with numerous editions of Shakespeare's works (16th century to 20th century) available in multiple formats such as PDF (images of the actual work), read online, and full text.

High-quality digital images of early quartos of Shakespeare's plays and poems. From Octavo, a private company that has chosen to release these images to the public.

Shakespeare's life and the changes in his plays over time, with full images of the manuscripts. From the British Library.

Digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays, high quality images that allow comparison between editions. From the Folger Shakespeare Library, University of Oxford, University of Maryland, British Library, University of Edinburgh Library, Huntington Library, National Library of Scotland, University of Birmingham.

First stage of a project aiming to create the world’s single most important digital archive on early modern English theatre. Relates to professional theatre and dramatic performance in the age of Shakespeare, Marlowe, Jonson, Middleton, and more; items like the only surviving records of theatre box office receipts for any play by Shakespeare, and the 1600 contract to build the Fortune Theatre in London, listing the layout and design of the Globe Theatre, where Shakespeare’s company performe

Prints and photographs primarily from the 19th century, both illustrations of Shakespeare's works and also theatrical performers and performances of Shakespeare. From University of Pennsylvania libraries.

19th century images of Shakespeare's plays, and their influence on criticism and performance. Includes a list of each play with links to paintings of scenes from that play. From Professor Henry Rusche at Emory University.

Explores the marriage between book arts and Shakespearean text by collecting heavily-illustrated Shakespeare editions as well as artist book responses. From the University of Wisconsin.

From one of the most well-known Shakespeare libraries, images of books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, and art related to William Shakespeare's plays and poems.

Encoded for use in some text analysis software, and representative of the kind of work that goes into making a text available for digital humanities projects. From Oxford University.

1864 Globe Edition of Shakespeare's complete works, with concordance and character search plus excellent MA thesis paper with textual history of some common Shakespeare editions on the internet. Supported by George Mason University.

The Modern English Collection of the Electronic Text Center provides access to material (in full text) from 1500 to the present. You can browse by the last name of an author such as Shakespeare, or by area of interest, and download complete text versions of each file.

Downloadable in many formats, but often the edition is unclear, so these copies may differ from other modern critical copies.

An early scholarly edition, now fully searchable on the web. Includes the plays, sonnets, and other verse. From Bartleby.com.

Rich collection of high-quality transcriptions of the plays, reviews of contemporary adaptations, news, online forum, podcasts, study resources, and more. Includes clear discussion of texts used for transcriptions.

Exhibits, digitized collections, publication information, and more from one of the most well-known Shakespeare libraries in the U.S.

"Designed and maintained by the MIT Shakespeare Project in collaboration with the Folger Shakespeare Library and other institutions. We aim to provide free access to an evolving collection of texts, images, and film relevant to Hamlet's first encounter with the Ghost (Act 1, Scenes 4 and 5)."

Facsimiles, concordances of early editions, line-by-line commentary from numerous editions, promptbooks, bibliographies, more -- a huge amount of information on Hamlet.

Incredibly rich site with scholarly work including a library of fully-edited plays and poems plus historical contextual materials and other critical and reference materials, page images from early folio copies to transcriptions of modern versions. From the University of Victoria.

Rich collection of high-quality transcriptions of the plays, reviews of contemporary adaptations, news, online forum, podcasts, study resources, and more.

Information and exhibits about Shakespeare's birthplace, Tudor and Jacobean life, and treasures from their collections. See also their Finding Shakespeare, which curates stories from Shakespeare's life and times.

A rich website with links to companion radio documentary, covers the influence of Shakespeare on American life in areas like education, self-improvement, public speaking, morality, and more. Many multimedia links to audio and video, from the Folger Shakespeare Library.

Companion website to public radio and TV series airing in late 2011, focused on interviews with scholars, actors, directors, and others passionate about Shakespeare. Will also include clips of Shakespeare performances, discussion of his contemporary world, and the influence of Shakespeare on the world today.

From Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, a list searchable by title of bulletins and documents developed through the Globe's contemporary productions. Focuses on Shakespeare but includes contemporaries like Middleton, with actors and directors in podcast, deep readings of individual scenes, production notes, introductions to the plays, more.

An annotated directory of scholarly internet resources, which has its own search engine. Arranged into ten sections like "Works" , "Life and Times", "Criticism", etc. Most sections include useful commentary such as a history of Shakespeare editions. Maintained by Terry Gray at Palomar Community College.