Skip to main content

Sociology : SOC 2358 Current Issues in Cities and Suburbs

A guide to online and print resources in sociology.

Imagine Boston 2030

Classes begin on Wednesday, September 6, with a discussion of Imagine Boston 2030, the city’s recently unveiled planning process. The course will be facilitated by Distinguished Professor and Dukakis Center Director, Dr. Ted Landsmark, who also sits on the Board of the Boston Planning and Development Agency. Check the schedule as past classes are available as streaming video.

Read the report

Check BARI (Boston Area Research Initiative), an interuniversity research partnership of Northeastern University and Harvard University in conjunction with the City of Boston for data.

Library Resources

Research Support Services

Subject Librarians Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Subject Librarians work in several Library departments. They assist individuals and small groups with research projects.

Digital Media Commons Edit/Delete Quick Stats
DMC is a collection of collaborative work and teaching spaces, with expert help in using the digital and 3-D resources.

Archives and Special Collections Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Archives staff members work with primary source materials in both print and digital form.

The Writing Center
The Northeastern University Writing Center is open to any member of the NU community and exists to help any level writer, from any academic discipline, become a better writer.The Writing Center offers face-to-face appointments at 412 Holmes Hall, same-day appointments at 136 Snell library (behind the Argo Tea), and online appointments.  Book an appointment here!

ITS (Information Technology Services) training includes software workshops. You will need to login in to your MyNEU account in order to browse the schedule and register.

 

Take a Break

Neighborhood Matters--lunch and a talk on NOV 7, 2017 from 12 pm-1 pm in Snell Library 90

The Boston Public Library (BPL) offers free tours on the art and architecture of the library.

Stop in the space between the McKim Library and the new Johnson Building to see the Boston Communities exhibit.
There are additional panels depicting "WHO WE ARE: Then and Now". 

 

Have you seen this plaque at Northeastern? The campus used to be under water!

Hint: Located on Parker Street.

Selected Databases

For the built environment, try Avery Index

or the collection of databases in Social Science Premium (ProQuest)

Academic Search Complete uses a GE (geographic option) to limit a search by location.

Scholar OneSearch searches like Google

If you want to phrase search--use quotation marks.

Interactive (searchable) maps can provide a geographic picture of a community, such as the Distressed Economic Communities map

The History of Landfill in Boston --open the webpage and click on each of the years to see the growth of filled land.

History of landfill in Boston-an interactive map