Non-Profit Management : Find Grants and Non-Profits

Grant Databases

Grants.gov
A source for federal funding opportunities, information on government grants, including federal grants life cycle, policies on grants management, and profiles of grant-making agencies.
Pivot
Pivot is pre-populated with Northeastern researcher profiles (and others) and matches them to current funding opportunities in the COS database. This allows users to search for a funding opportunity and instantly view matching faculty from inside or outside Northeastern.
Office of Research Development
A list of federal sources, foundations, and independent research firms that might offer grants and funding opportunities for research.
Guidestar
You need to register for a free account to access basic information about a nonprofit, including recent Forms 990.
Charity Navigator
Evaluations of the financial health of over 5400 charitable organizations in the United States.
Foundation Center
The Foundation Center provides a wealth of information about nonprofits, including help with starting a nonprofit, finding/writing grants, funding trends, etc.
GrantStation
GrantStation has a variety of searchable directories, including a sizable nonprofit grant database.
Office of Small Business Centers
The Mission of the Office of Small Business Development Centers is to promote entrepreneurship, small business growth and the U.S. economy by providing the critical funding, oversight and support needed by the nationwide network of Small Business Development Centers.
Federal Register
Includes federal grant opportunities. Search by entering "grant opportunities" in the search box.
State Associations for Non Profits
Directory by state of non profits and funding opportunities

Demographics

Census Quick Facts
QuickFacts from the US Census includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.
Explore Census Data
Provides access to and keyword searches of data collected from a variety of censuses and surveys.
Global Consumption Database
Consumption by country/region, sector or product. From the World Bank
The US 2020 Census
The census count closed on October 31, 2020. Visit the 2020 Census link above for updates.
Census 2020 Hard-to-Count Communities Map
Developed by the CUNY Mapping Service at CUNY Graduate Center and the Center for Urban Research to highlight areas of the country that are hardest to count, this tool allows comparisons of 2010 response rates with 2020 rates.
Connecticut Census Data
Hosted by the CT Department of Health, a major source of population data for CT, the decennial census attempts to provide a true count of the population rather than an estimate

Attitudes and Opinions

Mintel U.S. Reports & Global New Products This link opens in a new window
International stats & raw data on consumers, consumer behavior, demographics, psychographics
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
International stats & raw data on consumer behavior, demographics/psychographics, consumers & ecommerce
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
US-Only sats, maps & tables on population, age, race & ethnicity, gender, income, education, employment, poverty, language, ancestry, households, family type, transportation, housing, market segments, consumer behavior, health, technology, finance.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
US-Only stats, maps & tables by state, county, zip code, MSA, place. Includes demographic profiles and interesting “Data Snacks” feature
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
US-Only stats & maps on income, spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economics, demographics, education, health, federal program guidelines

Evaluating Non-Profit Statuses

B Impact Assessment
Measure a company's impact
on its workers, community, environment, and customers. Use this to compare other similar organizations.

NCCS Database and Tools
National Center for Charitable Statistics datasets
Bizminer
Provides detailed industry analysis which reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets
Social Return Investment
Atkisson
Compass Assessment
Social Return on Investment
Poverty & Social Impact Analysis
Chronicle of Philanthropy Facts and Figures
Many lists of top fund-raisers, corporate giving, foundation giving, online fund-raising, biggest donors, county-by-county generosity, etc. plus articles on studies by other organizations

Blackbaud Index of Charitable Giving
Well known firm focused on software and data to help healthcare, non-profits and others meet goals
Guidestar
Candid is an information service specializing in reporting on U.S. nonprofit companies

United States Business Statistics

United States Census
Business, economic, and population data.
Explore Census Data
Keyword search U.S. Census Data.
FedStats
Gateway to federal agencies that collect and release data.
Business.gov
Community Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics
Only available in print. Call number: Reference HA203 .S66 2007
US Economic Indicators
Links to commonly requested statistics from the US government, including construction, personal income and sales.

Surveys and Reports

These databases provide industry reports - keep in mind that a report with a broader industry topic may include segments within that industry. For example, a report on apparel may include a section on menswear.

S&P NetAdvantage
Domestic coverage. Click on the Industry Survey tab - View All to see the list of covered industries as well as date of last update.
MarketLine Advantage
International coverage. Many industry reports include a Five Forces Analysis.
Passport GMID
International coverage. Analysis and reports on specific industries as well as broader industries.
FitchConnect (formerly Business Monitor International)
International coverage; Useful for up-to-the-minute global, regional, or country-based industry forecasts and trends analysis.
EMIS: Emerging Markets Information Service
Covers emerging markets. News and reports available in English and local languages.
more...less...
Note: As of June 7, 2018, you will be required to create a profile in order to export content. You will still be able to view material without creating a profile.
Statista
Use Statista to find information on markets, demographics, surveys and rankings.
Factiva
Use the Companies/Markets tab to locate the Industry link.
Value Line
Value Line provides investment research data and analysis of companies and markets.
Mergent Archives (Formerly Mergent Web Reports)
Archive of corporate and industry related documents from Mergent. Includes Digital Corporate Manuals and the Digital Municipal & Government Manuals.

Key Resources

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Economic, demographic, and market data on thousands of industries worldwide.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
PitchBook delivers data and research covering private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions. PLEASE NOTE: Separate registration with a Northeastern or NCH email address is required. See where to register.Accounts must be re-registered each calendar year.
Download limit: 10 downloads a day/25 downloads a month, per user.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. Includes company SWOTs, company overviews, industry profiles, market research, case studies, financial deals, country analysis, news and statistics.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets

Mergent Online
Financial information for publicly traded companies. Create custom peer analysis reports and more.

Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information, the majority in full text. Some video.
Value Line Investment Survey (Standard and Poor's) This link opens in a new window
Equity research reports -
Data and performance analysis of approximately 8,000 stocks, 15,000 mutual funds, and 80,000 options and other securities. Company reports, analysis, industry benchmarking and comparisons. Data charts and exporting available.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Jointly funded by the University Libraries and the DAmore-McKim School of Business
Includes access to text-only versions of Barron's, the Wall Street Journal, and hundreds of other international newspapers. Factiva is to be used for academic research. Using the content for analytics or text mining is prohibited. Access is limited to 5 users at a time.
NetAdvantage (S&P Global) This link opens in a new window
Ready access to S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature.