Health Informatics : Find articles, literature

On this page you will find tips on searching databases as well as additional resources beyond the 3 Key Resources noted on the Get Started page.

As with most disciplines, there may be times that an area of interest includes other fields or subjects that are covered in publications outside health informatics. These may be in specific databases for that subject area.

For that reason, databases are grouped by the main subject area they cover, for example: engineering, or health.

A list of Health IT focused journals is at the bottom of the page.

Unlike a search engine (Google and Google Scholar), which will search anything it can find regardless of content, a database contains specific content that is curated based on its relevance to the focus of the database. 

• When starting in a database, note what subject areas and types of publications it includes.Think about the terminology that field might use that could be different than yours. In addition, acronyms can mean many things, so include the full name to make sure what you mean is understood.
• Try a few searches and adjust the terms based on the results you get (or don't get).
• If you don't have luck in one database consider why and try a different one that might fit. It can be a trial and error process but sometimes you get what you need immediately.

Below is a selected list of possible journals covering topics for Health Informatics. You can search individual journals but they will come up in your results in database searches. Advanced strategies will help you narrow to specific journals, too.

Open Access Journals

Subscription Journals