Attention: AGOL use credit and each member will receive 1000 credits. To find out how AGOL use credits please refer to Understand Credits. Please be aware, the geocoding process may consume many credits, please email me if you have any questions.
| Tutorial | Program |
|---|---|
| ArcGIS Online (Classic Map Viewer) Tutorial | ArcGIS Online |
| ArcGIS Online Map Creation Tutorial (recommended) | ArcGIS Online |
| Census Data acquisition and wrangling into ArcGIS Pro | ArcGIS Pro |
| ArcGIS Online Group Collaboration | ArcGIS Online |
| Download ArcGIS Extension for Adobe Creative Cloud (open maps in Adobe Illustrator) | ArcGIS Online & Pro |
| AGOL cross organization collaboration | ArcGIS Online |
| Spatial Analysis with R by Rongsen Hu, GIS Coop, Spring 2023 | R |
| Merge and export spatial data in RStudio by Rongsen Hu, GIS Coop, Spring 2023 | R |
| Google My Maps tutorial by Rongsen Hu (Spring 2023 Coop), J. Peterson & et all. | Google account |
| An Introduction to Survey123 functions by Yapeng Guo (Fall 2023 Coop) | ArcGIS Online |
| A Simple Introduction for StoryMaps by Yapeng Guo (Fall 2023 Coop) | ArcGIS Online |
| StreeMap Premium, installation | ArcGIS Pro |
| Sea level rise in Boston Tutorial By Sophie Leggett (Spring 2024 Coop) | ArcGIS Online |
Please use the schedule appointment button above to schedule a GIS consultation.
| Tutorial | Program |
|---|---|
| Common skills for working with data in ArcGIS Pro | ArcGIS PRO |
| Get started with ArcGIS Maps for Adobe Creative Cloud | ArcGIS Online |
| Essential ArcGIS Online skills | ArcGIS Online |
| Common skills for working with data in ArcGIS Online | ArcGIS Online |
| Build an interactive dashboard | ArcGIS Online- Dashboard |
| Get started with ArcGIS Survey12 | ArcGIS Online- Survey 123 |
| Getting started with ArcGIS StoryMaps | ArcGIS Online- StoryMaps |
Project outline: an institution is planning to hold a workshop in Boston. The project owner is looking for those neighborhoods with larger population to hold the workshop in the neighborhood library.
What we create: 1- Creating a map of Boston neighborhoods. 2- Locating public libraries of the neighborhoods (data available in a CSV table with the latitude and longitude of the libraries). 3- We also have a table containing the address of two YMCA 's of Boston which needs to be mapped and symbolized by their capacity. 4- We also received a table which contains the neighborhood's population which needs to be mapped and visualized. 5- Symbolizing neighborhoods based on their populations (joining a table to a map layer). 6- Publishing map. 7- Creating a story map for the project owner.
The New Map Viewer of AGOL is out of beta, but the ability to create maps is limited in this version, for now I encourage the use of Map Viewer Classic. Trouble accessing the Map Viewer Classic? follow the instructions at AGOL Classic Map Viewer
Workshop Materials: instruction and files
Video recordings of the lecture are available below, or if you prefer to read the instructions you can find the step-by-step instructions at: ArcGIS Online General Instruction
Video or on Canvas at Video on canvas
AGOL Map Creation Part 1 or on Canvas at AGOL Map Creation Part 1 on canvas
AGOL Map Creation Part 2 or on Canvas at AGOL Map Creation Part 2 on canvas
Project outline: a bootcamp of “English as a Second Language” is planning to hold in the public libraries of Boston neighborhoods. The organizer needs your help to select a couple of libraries which are located within reach of a T station.
They provided a table -Public_Libraries- contains public libraries of Boston neighborhood with their latitude and longitude.
What we create: 1- Creating a map of Boston neighborhoods. 2- Locating public libraries of the neighborhoods (data available in a CSV table with the latitude and longitude of the libraries). 3- Mapping MBTA stations. 4- We are going to consider a 0.4 mile (about 500 meters) a walkable distance and create a walkable distance around each station (geoprocessing buffer tool) 5- Run summarize analysis to find libraries which fall into the walkable distance from a T station. 6- Publishing map. 7- Creating a story map for the project owner.
The step-by-step instruction is available at: AGOL New Map Viewer Step-by-Step Instruction
The Boston Public Libraires file can be find at: Public_libraries
Finding and understanding Census data can be challenging. We want to create a population map for Boston with the population of American Indian and Alaska Native alone. A generic vector file such as a shapefile normally can be found online for various geographic boundaries, but it may not contain the population or race information. In this assignment we will learn about adding population and race date to a map.
The United States Census Bureau reports data by various political and statistical geographic units which are designed to be mappable.
You can find the step-by-step instructions at: Census Data Acquisition and Wrangling into ArcGIS Pro
Working in a group creating ArcGIS Online project? Collaborating on an AGOL webmap or an application? Please contact Bahare to be assigned to an AGOL collaboration group.
Please find the instruction to share content in a group read AGOL Collaboration and Group Access
This document contains general instruction to create an ArcGIS Online map: ArcGIS Online General Instruction
Why StreetMap Premium? StreetMap Premium for ArcGIS Pro is a comprehensive street data product offered by Esri, designed to enhance mapping and spatial analysis capabilities within ArcGIS Pro. StreetMap Premium provides high-quality street data including detailed street networks, address locators, routing attributes, and more. It covers various geographic regions worldwide, offering extensive coverage that is useful for a wide range of applications.
Data Control and Customization: StreetMap Premium allows local hosting and customization of street data.
Offline Usage: It enables working with street data without continuous internet access.
Performance and Scalability: Offers better performance and scalability for large-scale applications.
Cost Predictability: Upfront licensing cost provides greater cost predictability.
Data Sovereignty: Meets legal or policy requirements for data sovereignty.
Advanced Analysis: Offers advanced spatial analysis and routing capabilities within ArcGIS Pro.
To install Streetmap Premium on your ArcGIS Pro, you'll need to follow these steps:
Sign In to ArcGIS Pro: Open ArcGIS Pro on your computer and sign in with your ArcGIS Online account credentials.
Navigate to Catalog: Once you're signed in, navigate to the Catalog pane. You can typically find this pane on the right side of the ArcGIS Pro interface.
Connect to Portal: In the Catalog pane, expand the 'Portal' section, and click on 'Portals'. Then, click on 'Add Portal' and sign in using your ArcGIS Online account credentials if prompted.
Search for Streetmap Premium: After connecting to your portal, use the search bar in the Catalog pane to search for "Streetmap Premium". This should bring up the Streetmap Premium dataset.
Add to Project: Once you've found Streetmap Premium, right-click on it and select 'Add To Project'. This will add the Streetmap Premium dataset to your current ArcGIS Pro project.
Configure the Basemap: After adding Streetmap Premium to your project, you can configure it as your basemap by right-clicking on it in the Contents pane and selecting 'Set as Basemap'.
Adjust Display Settings (Optional): You can adjust the display settings of the Streetmap Premium basemap, such as visibility range, transparency, etc., according to your preferences.
Save Your Project: Finally, make sure to save your ArcGIS Pro project to retain the configuration for future use.
A summary of a research article that appears at the beginning of the document. Reading the abstract may help you decide if you want to read the full article.
A note, comment, or explanation. Can be added to citations to create annotated bibliographies.
A geographic information system (GIS) software developed by Esri. ArcGIS enables you to analyze, visualize, and interpret spatial data for better decision-making.
Written content on a narrow subject and published in a periodical or website. In some contexts, academics may use article as a shortened form of journal article.
A detailed list of resources cited in an article, book, or other publication. Also called a List of References.
A group of libraries in New England that work together to share resources with students, faculty, and staff of member libraries. Northeastern University is a member of this group. Requesting a consortium library card is free to Northeastern students.
A free library available to people who work, live or attend school in Massachusetts. Boston Public Library's collection includes physical and digital access to books, journals, and films.
A label of letters and/or numbers that tell you where the resource can be found in the library. Call numbers are displayed on print books and physical resources and correspond with a topic or subject area.
A list of all the items in a library's physical collection. Modern catalogs are searchable databases. Catalogs include information about the item's:
Also called a catalogue, OPAC. Historically a card catalog.
Software that can help you collect, organize, and cite sources. The library provides training on five specific citation managers: BibTeX, EndNote, Mendeley, RefWorks, and Zotero. Also called citation management software, citation management tool or reference manager.
Physical materials assigned by an instructor and held at the library. These materials are generally restricted to in-building use for a limited period. At faculty discretion, some materials may be checked out overnight or for a few days.
A searchable collection of similar items. Library databases include resources for research. Examples include: a newspaper database, such as Access World News, or a humanities scholarly journal database, such as JSTOR.
A searchable online storage space for video files, images, and documents. Specialized digital repositories collect materials related to a theme or institution.
Northeastern University Library manages the Digital Repository Service (DRS). The DRS collects digital material related to Northeastern University's history and academic work.
The conversion of print or analog material to a digital format. Examples of digitization include:
A paper written to fulfill requirements for a degree containing original research on a narrow topic. Also called a thesis.
A unique number assigned to some digital content. DOIs do not change even if the online location or ownership of the resource changes.
A digital version of a thesis or dissertation produced by a master's or Ph.D. student. Most theses and dissertations written by Northeastern University students are ETDs. Interested researchers can find Northeastern ETDs in the Digital Repository Service. Theses and dissertations written before 2007 are only available in print format in the Northeastern University Archives.
A broad category of research in which existing research is reviewed to clarify what is known. Evidence synthesis uses explicit and reproducible methods. Common types of evidence synthesis include systematic reviews, scoping reviews, integrative reviews, and umbrella reviews.
A computer-based means of storing, analyzing, and displaying geographic data. Researchers use Geographic Information Systems to create maps and charts.
A way of examining and interpreting data about geographic locations, or spatial data. Geospatial analysis examines spatial data to gain insights and identify patterns or trends. Also called geospacial analysis.
A government document shared to inform and start discussion about proposed policy.
Research or reports circulated outside of a traditional publication process. Types of grey literature include:
Also called gray literature.
The system Northeastern’s library uses for interlibrary loan requests. The first time you request materials, you’ll need to set up your account.
A library service that allows you to request resources your library does not have. At Northeastern University, this service is free. Materials are delivered electronically when possible.
A unique number used to identify books. Many databases and search engines allow you to search for a book using an ISBN.
An ongoing publication focused on current developments in a field. Journal issues are released on a regular schedule.
A unit of Northeastern’s library with responsibility for services or systems. Some departments are referred to by their acronyms:
A search setting that removes search results based on source attributes. Limiters vary by database but often include publication date, material type, and language. Also called: filter or facet.
Notes, comments, annotations, sketches, added to the margins of a text. These can be typed or hand-written. Marginalia can include headers, footnotes, and sidenotes. In some cases, marginalia are written by the author of a text, but is often notes made by a reader.
Information associated with a resource, usually organized in a specific way. The word metadata means "data about data".
Metadata varies but often includes title, creator, and format. Descriptive metadata makes it possible to find and identify resources in a collection. When the metadata in a collection is standardized, the predefined structure is called a metadata schema.
Research or data available for free. Open access resources are sometimes labeled with an unlocked padlock symbol. These resources often have permissive licenses that support re-use and sharing.
What is Open Access?
Words used to connect multiple search terms to bring back targeted results. Operators can be used to reduce or expand the number of search results. Operators include:
Also called: Boolean Operator.
Well-regarded review process used by some academic journals. Relevant experts review articles for quality and originality before publication. Articles reviewed using this process are called peer reviewed articles. Less often, these articles are called refereed articles.
A newspaper, magazine or journal that is published on a regular schedule.
A free and open-source Geographic Information System (GIS) application. This tool set enables you to capture, analyze, visualize, and share geographic data. QGIS is a Mac-friendly alternative to ArcGIS.
Data defined by a grid of equally sized cells, akin to pixels.
To transfer information from one format to another. Example: Scanning a paper newspaper to create an online or PDF version. Reformatting includes digitization.
A webpage or pages created by librarians to guide your research in a field or course. Research guides include links to resources, tutorials, and other information.
The removal of a published article from a journal. A journal’s editors or editorial board can decide to retract an article when it has serious errors. Errors that can result in retraction include:
A book or article written by academic researchers and published by an academic press or journal. Scholarly sources contain original research and commentary.
Common filetype (.shp) for points, lines, or polygons. This filetype is widely used in Geographic Information Systems, specifically ArcGIS. Various free shapefiles are available online.
A library database that searches a broad range of resources. Material in Scholar OneSearch includes:
Scholar OneSearch also includes information about material held at Northeastern’s libraries. Researchers can use ScholarOne Search to organize their research and manage borrowed items. To best serve Northeastern University's widespread community, ScholarOne Search has different views:
Appropriate views for each global campus are included on their Global Campus Portal.
Information tied to specific geographic locations or positions on the Earth's surface. Also known as “geospatial data”, GeoData, or spacial data.
Library staff who have expertise in an academic subject. A subject librarian can offer advice on:
Subject librarians are available to work with individuals and small groups. They create guides and tutorials and teach workshops.
A source focused on sharing news and information of interest to an industry. Trade publications are often published by industry associations. Periodicals related to an industry are called trade journals.
An unrepeated string of numbers and letters used to recognize and differentiate material. Also called an identification number. Examples include American citizen's’ social security numbers or published books' ISBNs. A persistent identifier (PID) is a long-lasting type of unique identifier. Persistent identifiers allow you to locate a resource with a URL. Examples include electronic articles' Digital Object Identifiers (DOI) and digital materials' handles.
The precise address for a webpage. URL stands for the words uniform resource locator.
A spatial model using coordinates for representing points, lines, and polygons.
A concise, researched report about a complex issue. Readers should gain enough understanding to solve a related problem or make a choice.
An article or conference proposal draft shared to invite feedback.