Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Data and Statistics
Use the links below to find data and statistical resources:
For more help with charts, graphs, and numbers, check out the Social Science Statistics guide.
Key Data, Statistical, and Polling Resources
A database containing information on markets, demographics, surveys and rankings.
Data Citation Index (1900 - current)
The Data Citation Index on the Web of Knowledge platform provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world.
ICPSR is a membership based, non-profit data archive located at the University of Michigan. Access to datasets and related studies on a wide variety of topics.
Database of the Roper Center at the University of Connecticut. Provides data from national opinion polls, 1935 to present.
This web site serves as a central guide for education data resources including high-value data sets, data visualization tools, resources for the classroom, applications created from open data and more.
Selected Data Sets and Surveys - U.S.
Education Statistics Sources and Publications-U.S.
Digest of Education Statistics
The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from pre-kindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
The Condition of Education
A link to the National Center for Education Statistics site, this is the electronic version of an annual report submitted to Congress. This comprehensive compendium describes the current status and recent progress of education in the US, summarizing major education statistics on the status and progress at all levels of schooling, from preprimary to graduate.
NEA Rankings of the States 2016 and Estimates of School Statistics 2017
Series goes back to 2004 (scroll down to see reports from previous years). Data on enrollment, attendance, staff, expenditures, and revenues.
Projections of Education Statistics to 2022
Previous editions available through the Annual Reports Program link on this page.
Education Statistics/Data Sources and Publications - State
Education Statistics/Data Sources - International
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
See especially the portals for Education, Literacy, and Communication and Information.
UNESCO Data Centre
Offers tools to create tables, graphs, and maps.
Eurostat Education Data (European Union)
Contains statistics related to education systems, lifelong learning, and educational attainment.
International Comparisons (NCES)
Provides results from a number of international education surveys including TIMSS (Math/Science) and International Reading and Literacy.
EdStats (from the World Bank)
Contains data about education equality, tools to visualize data, as well as an analysis of educational indicators.
Covers Europe. Provides a variety of datasets, statistics, and thematic reports.