Help with parts of the research process
Encyclopedias and Websites
- A few general, reliable websites are listed below.
- For more specific recommendations, use the library's Research Subject Guides to find your subject and use the recommended sites there
Different resources are available for different purposes--always check with your instructor or advisor to learn if a website is appropriate for your project.
-
Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly encyclopedia on a range of topics. Signed articles, references.
-
Gale Health and Wellness
Background information such as professional magazines and reputable news and broadcast sources.
-
ScienceDirect Topics (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowUse these topic pages to get up to speed with an area of research that’s new to you. Search your topic and get foundational and reference materials including scientific dictionary and encyclopedia articles, journal review articles, books and book chapters, and handbooks.
-
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
For any topic that might be the subject of debate, Opposing Viewpoints summarizes different viewpoints and presents journalistic, primary source, and academic sources. -
Project Syndicate This link opens in a new windowA unique source of opinion pages from news outlets around the world. Good for debate and argument essays or to research a range of views on current events.
- Both Sides of the Issue is a collection of videos presenting different sides of an issue. Sponsored by Center for Independent Thought, an IRS 501(c)(3) tax-exempt non-profit educational foundation, funded entirely by private donations.
Finding data and statistics:
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowBrings together data and graphs on every imaginable topic from business to government, surveys, sports, and scientific topics. Easy to use, exportable charts and data, recommended citations.
For more data and statistics see the library guide to Social Science Statistics and Data.
Newspapers can provide current information on technology, economics, international news and social issues.
-
New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new windowNortheastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device. NOTE: Digital editions available in Spanish and Chinese.
-
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required. NOTE: Digital editions available in Chinese and Japanese.
-
Financial TimesLondon-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU London email address.
-
Washington PostWashington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (PPT)(Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.
-
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowGlobal news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
-
Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOur largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.
-
PressReader This link opens in a new windowPressReader provides online access to newspapers and popular magazines from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. This is a 90 day archive. PressReader can also be accessed via email registration. Go directly to the home page, click 'Sign In,' then 'Library or Group,' then select Northeastern University from the dropdown menu to create your account.