We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Many of these databases are available only to members of the Northeastern community. You may be asked to log in with your MyNortheastern username and password in order to access them.
Genderwatch: Full articles from women's studies magazines and newsletters (including some that are hard to find in print), as well as some scholarly journals, going back to the 1970's.
Academic OneFile: Newspaper, magazine, and academic peer-reviewed articles from many leading publications and reference sources. Includes the New York Times from 1995 to present.
Nexis Uni: Up-to-date news, business and legal information.
Academic Search Complete: Newspaper, magazine, and academic peer-reviewed articles.
Ethnic NewsWatch: Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Web of Science: Despite its name, Web of Science does index materials in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Cited Reference Searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing your work, measure the influence of someone's work, and navigate forward, backward and through the literature of your discipline. Covers 1975-present.
Women's Rights Collections 1880-1990 in ProQuest History Vault: Primary source materials that tell the story of the women and voting rights and reproductive rights at national, regional and local levels.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: A full-text primary source database that includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Women Writers Online: Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.
American Periodicals: Digitized images of the pages of 1000 American magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1805. Titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's Magazine, and Ladies' Home Journal.
Women Working, 1800-1930: Digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Women Working is part of the Harvard University Library Open Collections Program.
If Northeastern does not own the book, article, journal or other material you're looking for, you can request a copy for free through InterLibrary Loan.
If you think we should own a book, article, journal or other material, you can Recommend a Purchase. The subject librarian will review your recommendation. Please note that Snell Library is generally not in a position to purchase textbooks.