Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Africana Studies: Home

A guide for research in African American and African Studies

Africana Studies at Northeastern University

Africana Studies at Northeastern Africana Studies is a truly global and interdisciplinary degree. College graduates with Africana Studies degrees have become doctors, lawyers, entertainers, politicians, public health professionals, diplomats, professors, astronauts, journalists, engineers, artists, poets, executives, entrepreneurs, and more!
 

What can I do with a Black Studies Major? Five Hundred Answers Provided by Robert Fikes, Jr.

Take a look at From Co-op to Career for more information about co-op or career resources.

Scholar OneSearch

 is one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, e-resources, government publications, and more.

Another single-search option at Google Scholar@NU

Streaming Video Collections

Alexander Street logo and button

Academic Video Online (AVON) offers videos of interest to a broad range of disciplines, including significant coverage of criminology, law, and criminal justice.

kanopy logo and button

Kanopy provides a broad range of documentaries across the disciplines.  See especially the Law & Criminal JusticeHuman Rights, and Sociology areas.

 

Docuseek provides a number of documentaries of interest to Criminal Justice students, including materials on trafficking, law enforcement, child abuse, criminal law, and criminology.

DOCUSEEK streams independent, social-issue and environmental films providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution. New collection of 1700+ films--Browse topics to see what is available,

Key Resources

Sage Research Methods is an online colllection of reference tools, handbooks, manuals, videos and project planners about research. Sage Research Methods has a help guide
 

Starting your research and need some background information?

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition which covers concepts such as race relations, discrimination, race and urban planning.in detailed articles

screen shot of  search result for critical race theory in International encyclopedia of sociasl and behavioral science
 

International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest  browse the essays on revolution and protest. For a more comprehensive search of the publisher resources, use the box at the top to search the entire Wiley Online Library -- books, chapters, journals and articles.
search box showing black lives matter search using quotation marks for International Encyclopedia of  Revolution and Protest

NOTE: use quotation marks to focus the search on the name of the movement.

Looking for country information? 

Check  EIU Viewpoint (Economist Intelligence Unit, Country Reports) for reports, political and economic trends as well as reports on Current Themes.

Europa World Plus, which includes the reference work,  Africa: South of the Sahara
Description of Europa World Plus resource

CQ Researcher with in-depth, unbiased coverage of topics such as health care, death penalty, race and ethnicity. Helpful research tools include a timeline, pros/cons discussion and links to related issues.

Biography in Context has reference, academic and magazine articles and links to curated websites. 

PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to international and domestic policy papers and reports. Browse the links to organizations, or keyword search for reports,

ProQuest button  Social Sciences Premium  combines a number of databases, including IBSS, Social Services Abstracts, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts for searching for abstracts and full text.

Need historic news articles?

African Newspapers, 1800-1922 (World Newspaper Archive)  accesses 70 historical newspapers throughout Africa.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Christine Oka
Contact:
270 Snell Library
(617) 373-3316

Digital Resource

Google Cultural Institute -- Black History and Culture
A treasure trove of online black history and culture, including

 
Museum of UnCut Funk welcome page