Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases all provide access to encyclopedic information and/or scholarly articles on literature in general as well as poetry in particular. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to enter your myNEU username and password before entering the databases.
Literature Resource Center
Provides biographical and critical overviews of most authors, critical reactions to their works, and bibliographies for further research. Draws from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
This link takes you directly to the list of Language and Literature journals available full-text in JSTOR. From this page you can also access all other areas of the database, including the search interface.
This link takes you directly to Literary Magazines and Literature journals in the database. You can browse by title or search the entire database.
This is an essential resource for citations to scholarly articles on literature.
"Visitors to Poets.org will find thousands of poems as well as hundreds of poet biographies, essays, interviews, and poetry recordings—with new material being added constantly."
Poetry at the Library of Congress
This is the home of the U.S. Poet Laureate, as well as the place to go for poetry webcasts, the Favorite Poem Project, and more.
Verse on Bartleby.com
Read thousands of poems online!
Poetry in Google Books
Access previews and complete works of poetry, anthologies, and more.
Audio Poetry Collections
From NPR and the Poetry Foundation, poets read and discuss their work.
- Academy of American Poets Audio
Large collection of poets, classic and new, reading their own work. Notable for historic reach, including writers such as Robert Frost, Walt Whitman, and Langston Hughes as well as contemporary poets. Audio only, mostly short clips.
- The Poetry Archive
Poets, classic and new, reading their own work. Notable for historic reach, including writers such as William Butler Yeats, Robert Browning, and Sylvia Plath. Audio only, mostly short clips. Includes ability to browse by author, title, theme, or form.