Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nearly one million images in art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, with tools to view, present, and manage images. Search for illustrations (William Blake or Alice in Wonderland), illuminated manuscripts, author photos, more..
Associated Press Images
Mostly current events photo reporting, but the historical collection may be of particular interest to literary/cinema/cultural studies, including Jazz Greats, Film Directors, Comedians, and more.
From the University of Cambridge, collection of "images to enable you to explore the interface between the literature and visual culture of medieval England" and provides images corresponding to the main episodes dramatized in the English Mystery Plays.
Poetry, in particular, is meant to be heard. You can find both classic and contemporary poets reading their own work.
Poetry Off the Shelf
From NPR and the Poetry Foundation, poets read and discuss their work.
Academy of American Poets Audio
Large collection of poets, classic and new, reading their own work. Notable for historic reach, including writers such as Robert Frost, Walt Whitman, and Langston Hughes as well as contemporary poets. Audio only, mostly short clips.
The Poetry Archive
Poets, classic and new, reading their own work. Notable for historic reach, including writers such as William Butler Yeats, Robert Browning, and Sylvia Plath. Audio only, mostly short clips. Includes ability to browse by author, title, theme, or form.
Films on Demand (FMG) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video purchased by the library to view at home or in the classroom. See the English and Language Arts section for films on Zora Neale Hurston, William Blake, medieval drama, the Arthurian legend, and more.
Connie Martinson Talks Books
Television interviews with prominent authors of fiction and nonfiction taped over the last 30 years. Includes Barack Obama, Calvin Trillin, Elie Wiesel, Gore Vidal, Joseph Heller, Lisa See, Mary Gordon, Susan Vreeland, and more. From Claremont Colleges Digital Library; more video to be added in the future.
Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theatre Plus offers video of full-length performances from the English stage, including Shakespeare, modern dramas, musicals, and adaptations, as well as supplementary material such as interviews, behind-the-scenes documentaries, and study guides.
FORA.tv -- Books
Interviews, readings, and short pieces from a site devoted to gathering "the web's largest collection of unmediated video drawn from live events, lectures, and debates going on all the time at the world's top universities, think tanks and conferences".
In-depth public lectures and discussions with nationally- and internationally-known authors, most available in video. Contributed by local Boston cultural institutions, hosted by WGBH. Select "Literature and Philosophy" for literary-focused lectures.
Lannan Video Library
Series, running 1988-2002, with in-depth interviews and discussions with contemporary fiction and non-fiction authors. Listed by author's name.
LCWP Videos Online
Author interviews and readings sponsored by the Litchfield County Writers Project made available online by the UConn Library. Currently has over 50, with plans to add more.
Library of Congress Poetry and Literature Webcasts
Over 500 webcasts including performance, lecture, and discussion, all focused on poetry and literature. Browsing is only available in a simple reverse-date list, so use the search box to pinpoint webcasts featuring authors of interest.
WGBH Open Vault
The free online archives of WGBH TV and radio programs with video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools. Find amazing historical video on topics like the Vietnam War, U.S. civil rights struggles, nuclear arms control, and busing in Boston. Well organized with detailed subject tags.
Audio: Podcasts and Interviews
Most audio is downloadable for on-the-go listening. iTunes users can also find podcast subscriptions for most of the recurring radio shows, to make download of new episodes automatic.
Between the Lines
Weekly author interview program from Public Broadcasting Atlanta, showcasing nationally and internationally known authors. For more info on individual podcasts, see the show website
Long-running U.S. radio show featuring in-depth interviews with authors about their work.
KQED's The Writer's Block
Weekly public radio series with authors in poetry, fiction, and theater performing their own work. Focus on new and upcoming authors.
NPR's Book Tour
Leading contemporary authors of fiction and nonfiction read and discuss their work on National Public Radio.
BBC Four's Classic Interviews with Writers
Brief highlight clips from some of the most well-known authors of the 20th century. Audio only, mostly short clips under three minutes. The BBC's full web interview archive is also available
All of the CBC's excellent audio programs, including in-depth interviews and discussions with contemporary fiction and non-fiction authors, some with audience Q&A.
Lannan Audio Archives
Writers, poets, activists, and cultural thinkers brought together to discuss their work and surrounding events.
Free Library of Philadelphia Author Events
Almost 400 author talks, both fiction and non-fiction, including writers like Joseph O'Neill, Chinua Achebe, Norman Mailer, Edwidge Danticat, David McCullough, Jill Scott, Alice Sebold, Wole Soyinka, and more.