Research Subject Guides: ARTH 2215: History of Graphic Design: Find Journal and Magazine Articles

ARTH 2215: History of Graphic Design : Find Journal and Magazine Articles

Key Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly articles in the humanities, social sciences, and other disciplines. Useful for research in art and architectural history.
Most journals include extended historic backfiles and not current issues. The Northeastern Library also purchases individual e-book titles from JSTOR. The books are available chapter-by-chapter as PDFs.

Arts and Sciences IV content is available courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Art, Design, and Architecture Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and trade articles, books, and conference proceedings in the fields of visual and applied arts.
This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, including religion, literature, philosophy, cultural studies, women's studies, film and the arts.
Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles covering communication, mass media, rhetoric, and other closely related fields. Useful for the business aspects of art, such as advertising and graphic design.

ILLiad log-in (Opens in new window)
Need a book, book chapter, or article not available at Northeastern? Current US-based Northeastern faculty, staff, and students can request materials that aren't available at the Northeastern University Library through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan software.