Where do I search for patents?
Each patent database offers slightly different coverage, so a thorough patent search means searching in multiple databases. For tips on how to do that efficiently, check out How do I find relevant patents?.
- Google Patent SearchSearches full text of many patents on the web. International coverage. Algorithms may not bring back the most recent or all relevant patents. Use Advanced Patent Search to search by various criteria including filing date and chemistry.
- LensFree and open database includes US and international patents. Modern search interface with integrated classification search and patent citation analysis, so that you can easily find related patents and other scholarly works.
- US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)Definitive source for US patents. USPTO also offers information about trademarks, US Intellectual Property policies, and instructions for how to apply for a US patent.
- EspacenetEuropean Patent Office (EPO) database has international coverage and includes an excellent Cooperative Patent Classifcation (CPC) search tool. Translations available to multiple languages.
- PatentScopeWIPO's (World International Property Organization's) patent database. International in scope, including many small countries, with translation into many languages.
- Derwent Innovations Index (1993 - current) This link opens in a new windowDerwent Innovations Index facilitates rapid, precise international patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
- SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n provides access to the worlds most comprehensive and reliable collection of scientific research information, including millions of records and up-to-date patent and chemical information curated and aggregated by a global network of expert scientists. Links to patents and Northeastern-subscribed materials.
