Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asian American Studies: Home

This is a resource guide of interdisciplinary resources for Asian American Studies at Northeastern University.

Asian American Studies

                 

Asian American Studies is part of the Asian Studies Program in the Department of Cultures, Societies and Global Studies

DATABASE TRIALS  includes access to the Hindustan Times.  This resource is a part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Hindustan Times Historical covers leading issues and events of the time, providing day-to-day news coverage of history in India. The historical newspaper offers coverage of 1924–2010, and is one of the largest newspapers in India.The paper is the second most widely read English newspaper in India (after The Times of India). The trial ends on December 28th 2022. 

Snell Library is currently offering trial access to World Politics Review, a daily online resource for international politics and foreign affairs written by more than 400 contributors from around the world and experts in a variety of disciplines. Full text is included in PDF or HTML format, or both, and the Review contains thousands of articles in its archive. The trial ends December 31 2022

Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resource sby taking this short survey. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.

Key Resources

Welcome!  For additional options, visit our comprehensive list of resources or consult a Subject Librarian or discipline-specific Subject Guide. See suggested Related Subject Guides box on the left.

Selected Open Access (OA) Resources


Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center video series:
We are not a Stereotype: Breaking Down Asian Pacific American Bias

be/longing: Asian Americans Now
Profiles of Asian American trailblazers from across the country in five stories of belonging and exclusion; resilience and hope; and solidarity in the face of hate.
an Asian Pacific American Center is proud to present We are not a stereotype, a video

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Christine Oka
Contact:
270 Snell Library
(617) 373-3316

Streaming Video Collections

Alexander Street logo and button

Academic Video Online (AVON) offers videos of interest to a broad range of disciplines. A search for "Asian American" retrieves over 2200 videos!

Many shot videos in this collection include helpful links, such as "What do you mean by the term "'ethnography;?"

kanopy logo and button

Kanopy provides a broad range of documentaries across the disciplines.  See especially the Global Studies, and Social Sciences areas. Search Asian American for  documentaries and feature films in the collection.

Watch complete videos or create playlists and clips in both Kanopy and AVON.

Logo with the title Docuseek

Docuseek provides a number of documentaries of interest to International Affairs students, including materials on conflicts, countries, regions, and cultures.For a precise search, use quote marks to find film about "Asian Americans".

NOTE: These subscription media collections require MyNortheastern credentials for access.

Primary Source Images

Library of Congress Collections include: 

Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar
Search the collection for photos, prints and drawings.

Other Resources:

JSTOR database also contains images

Densho Encyclopedia has images of documents and photographs.

Open Access Media Collections

Search "asian american" on

Visit the collection of the Watase Media Arts Center at JANM