It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LWP 6401, 6402, and 6403: Law and Policy Concepts 1, 2, and 3
OUR NEWEST DATABASE! Policy Commons compiles and organizes domestic and international policy literature from think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, research centers, and government agencies, Policy Commons currently provides access to 3 million publications and offers a directory more than 23,000 organizations with work included in the collection.
Indexes and links to publications from 350 think tanks, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and intergovernmental organizations (IGOs). PolicyFile may be used to identify single-issue policy groups. Domestic and international coverage.
CRS is a non-partisan research branch of the U.S. Congress. Given the broad range of policy issues covered and the expertise of CRS staff, these reports can provide an excellent starting point for research.
GAO is a non-partisan agency which investigates government spending and advises Congress of its findings. GAO reports frequently provide insight into policy initiatives and policy failures. Check the Key Issues page.
State Level Policy Resources
A number of these web sites facilitate comparative research across states.
The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) creates portals and databases which compare issues/legislation across states (sample issues include medical and recreational marijuana; state immigration laws; sanctuary policies; and climate change).
Provides publications and policy resources organized by issue (transportation, elections, etc). The Knowledge Center also contains the Book of the States which provides essays and comparative state data, 1935 to present.