Getting Started
Welcome to the course guide for LDR 6110 with Professor Robbie! Use the links included in this guide to help you begin your research for this course. It is important to use reliable, authoritative resources when researching. The resources provided here are carefully selected to provide a strong foundation for more powerful reports.
If you need additional guidance in locating resources, please feel free to contact me for an appointment.
About the project
Background: A Boston based non-profit is dedicated to empowering children aged 3-8 years old to become environmental stewards. They offer educational content, resources, curriculum, and programming including whimsical storybooks, eco-friendly plush toys, learning roadmaps, afterschool programs, online games and more. They take books, toys, and curriculum into schools around Boston, teaching children that they have the power to make a difference. They are committed to instilling a lifelong love for the environment in children, inspiring them to become the environmental stewards our planet desperately needs.
XN Project Description and Scope
They are working on different fundraising initiatives, including a Kickstarter campaign for $30,000, building at least 5 new strategic partnerships for the campaign, and improving backer engagement and conversion rates through creative incentives and communications.
Goal/Deliverables: XN Teams will provide education, marketing, and business development strategies to assist Idori in planning and executing a Kickstarter strategy to achieve a $30,000 goal.
- Challenge #1 - The Education Component: Research successful crowdfunding campaigns and apply best practices to optimize visibility and backer engagement for Idori.
- Challenge #2 - The Marketing Component: Research and apply best practices for developing relationships with donors, influencers, and partners to support the Kickstarter campaign.
- Challenge #3 - The Business Development Component: Analyze campaign performance and provide data-driven insights for optimization.
Based on the above three (3) challenges and drawing upon an understanding of Idori, students will intentionally research, analyze, and recommend possibilities that address Noah's challenges. Remember to connect "why" your team's recommendations make sense based on what you discovered through your research.
Key Resources (Databases)
The databases listed below are core databases for general business, consumer information, and marketing databases.
- Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information, the majority in full text. Some video.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBrings together data and graphs on every imaginable topic from business to government, surveys, sports, and scientific topics. Easy to use, exportable charts and data, recommended citations.
- Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new windowNews, market research reports, and company and financial data from more than 80 emerging markets.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes Artstor images of art and primary source artifacts.
Research Tips
To get started, below is a list of helpful search strategies, tips, and best practices to get you started. Try these keywords as suggestions (use your own for a more specific results page for your report)
- education AND marketing
- education AND youth services AND programming
- youth services AND business models AND best practices AND marketing plan
- "marketing plan" AND education
- fundraising AND programming
- market* AND "children STEM education"
- "case stud*" AND fund* AND STEM
- "case stud*" AND market* AND education AND children
- Research TutorialsReview the fundamentals of using library databases to plan and execute a topic search.
General Non-Profit Information
- Qualtrics Guide to Market ResearchArticle from Qualtrics on conducting business research and communicating it to your team and clients
- Charity NavigatorCharity Navigator evaluates and compares nonprofit charities for potential donors. Ratings include financial health, accountability and transparency. In addition to rating information sign up for a free login account to access past ratings, IRS information, including current and past IRS 990 forms and links to news articles about the charity.
- GuidestarGuideStar's database contains data on more than 900,000 public charities, approximately 118,000 private foundations, and nearly half a million other exempt organizations in the United States. Federal 990 forms can be accessed through Guidestar, and grant activity of both grantmakers and grantees is accessible through the Grant Explorer data set.
- Better Business BureauRates and grades charity organizations based on performance, a history of complaints against the organization and other criteria.