Key Databases
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
Use this link if you want to include video clips (Opens in new window) from the Associated Press in your search results. - Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information, the majority in full text. Some video.
- Compendex & INSPEC This link opens in a new windowCombines a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with a comprehensive database of physics, computer science and electrical engineering research.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to scholarly and professional literature in economics. 1969 to present. Links to full text.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDrawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource containing nearly 300,000 records, with full text for selected titles, and searchable cited references with library links for more than 200 additional titles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes ArtStor images of art and primary source artifacts.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowReports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
- PolicyFile This link opens in a new windowU.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
- Web of Science, Core Collection 1975-present This link opens in a new windowUse for citation tracking, finding seminal literature, data visualizations, author alerts, institutional affiliations, and impact factors. LInks to full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
Selected Policy Resources
- American Policy Directory (University of Oregon)Policy groups organized by broad topic area; see especially, the lists for Housing, Families/Children/Elderly, Civil Rights,
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowReports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
- PolicyFile This link opens in a new windowU.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Selected Research Centers/Associations/Organizations
Selected Statistical and Data Sources
- BARI (Boston Area Research Initiative)Boston Data Portal (Boston Data Library and BostonMap). Hosted at Northeastern University.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBrings together data and graphs on every imaginable topic from business to government, surveys, sports, and scientific topics. Charts and data exports available.
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new windowA non-profit membership-based data archive based at University of Michigan. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. You must register for a myData account in order to access some reports.