Skip to main content

Chemistry: Home

A guide to online and print resources in chemistry.

Search tips

For a comprehensive literature search in chemistry, start by searching SciFinder or Web of Science. To do a quick search or to find a few good articles, start by searching or browsing the full text collection of American Chemical Society Journals.

During weekends and evenings, you can get speedy assistance by using the following service:

For Research Assistance 

  • call 617-373-2356 (Research Help office)
  • use chat reference to contact a librarian, or  
  • come to the Research Help office in person

The Research Help Office is located next to the Help and Information Desk on Level 1 of Snell Library.  

Mon-Wed: 9:00am - 9:00pm
Thurs-Fri: 9:00am - 6:00pm
Sat: noon - 5:00pm
Sun: noon - 8:00pm
 

For in-depth questions, please send me an email or use the Schedule Appointment icon (in my profile) to set up a research consultation.

New resources

New book series

Progress in Brain Research

Advances in Cancer Research

International Review of Neurobiology

New encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Neurological Sciences (2nd Ed.)

Encyclopedia of Toxicology (3rd Ed.)

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience 

Chemistry news from ScienceDaily

Loading

Reference Source

Ebook

Citing Your Sources

ACS Style Guide--

      available online  

For help with your reference list, see chapter 14, "References," in Part Two, Style Guidelines

See more information on Citing/Bibliographies

Organic chemistry news

Loading

Research Tools and Tips

Looking for a specific item for which you know the title? Use these quick search tools:

•  Books

Use the Scholar OneSearch Browse search to find books by title or author.

•  Ejournals

Use the Ejournal finder (search by title, e-only).

Databases

Use the A-Z database list.

Feedback?

About This Guide
Email me any feedback you have about this guide -- tell me what's working and what's not.

About the Collection
Send me suggestions for new titles in this subject area.

About the Library
Use the library's Suggestion Box to send us your comments on anything else library-related.

Subject Guide

Kathy Herrlich's picture
Kathy Herrlich
Contact:
270 Snell Library
617-373-5305

Local Resources

Green Chemistry

ACS Green Chemistry Institute's 12 Principles of Green Chemistry

Featured open access resource

Protocols.io Tools for PLOS Authors: Reproducibility and Recognition

"PLOS now partners directly with protocols.io to provide authors better ways to share methodological details about their work, practical tools to reduce wasted research efforts and persistent, citable identifiers for laboratory methods."