Skip to main content

Media and Screen Studies : Home

This guide provides helpful information resources.

Key Resources

 Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

This primary resource covers entertainment history in US and UK trade magazines from the vaudeville era to 2000. Read articles in Billboard, Variety, Broadcasting, Melody Maker, to name a few.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals PLUS 

FIAF is a bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs.

Film Literature Index 

Film Literature Index includes 700,00 citations to film, tv and video articles and reviews from 1976-2001.

SAGE Handbook of Film Studies

This offers an overview of the state of Film Studies as an intellectual field towards the end of the first decade of the twenty-first century. 

Film and Documentary Reviews and Info.


This guide outlines a host of resources to aid you in conducting research, be it for a  Media and Screen Studies course or for any other subject discipline. Many of these resources are only available to current Northeastern University students, faculty or alumni.


Get Started with Your Research:


Snell Library Digital Media Commons Studios

210 SL, Level 2, Snell Library

(617) 373-2465


Audio and Video Studios Hours 

Sunday  Noon-8pm

Monday-Friday 9am-8pm

Saturday  Noon-8pm

Northeastern students, faculty, and staff may use the DMC Studios to create projects, presentations and online instruction. DMC Studios staff collaborate with faculty across the curriculum to help plan and implement media-based assignments and teach skills. During hours of service, DMC Studios and staff assist individuals and groups with scholarly projects on a walk-in and appointment basis. Studio time may be requested through NUSSO.Media Creation Studios: Open when library staff and services are available at the 1st floor Help & Information Desk.

Creation and editing software is available on the adjacent DMC workstations, which may be booked on NUSSO. Staff is available to help. Online tutorials are available through


Audio Recording Studio 209 SL

For recording of narration and music. Users must bring their own portable drives to save their work.

Studio time may be requested through NUSSO. Staff will follow up to confirm your reservation and help with set-up or training. First time users must complete studio orientation and skills assessment form.

• Speakers, microphone, monitors and more.
• Crush E3 Series Drum Set
• Yamaha Keyboard

Control Room 208 SL

For recording, tracking and mixing audio sources to create an audio master.

Equipment for Audio
• AVID C|24 control surface, which provides control of Pro Tools| HD mixing, recording, and editing. Mac Pro Computer.
• Software: Pro Tools HD, iLife, McDSP, SonMax, Izotope Ozone

Equipment for Video
• HD digital video switcher
• Big Knob studio command system
• Mac Pro with Black Magic Media Express for video capturing, and Final Cut Pro X for video editing.
• Leprecon LDC-4AV lighting board
• Zed 420 audio board

Video Recording Studio 207 SL

For recording interviews, presentations, or performances. Space may also be used for still photography. Orientation and training for use of this studio is required before first use.

• Green screen
• Leprecon professional lighting board and Barbizon lighting grid
• 4 TV-quality Panasonic camcorders
• Canon EOS Mark III 5D Cameras
• Allen & Heath 16 channel mixer

Studio time may be requested through NUSSO. Staff will follow up to confirm your reservation and help with set-up or training.

Media Creation Studios A & B (202 and 203 SL)

For basic audio and video recording, post-production and other learning object creation. Users must bring their own portable drives to save their work. Studio time may be requested through NUSSO. Staff will follow up to confirm your reservation and help with set-up or training. Faculty requesting assistance with the creation of online content or are creating flipped classroom techniques into their on-ground courses should contact Academic Technology Services,

• Each room has a Dell and iMac with a full suite of applications, as well as, Audacity, Camtasia, Presenter, Captivate, Story Line, Soft Chalk and Tegrity.
• USB Mic


Workshops on audio and video production are offered during Fall and Spring semesters and will be posted on the library event calendar. Novices are welcome!


Faculty: to request digital media instruction for your class, complete a form on myNEU. Select the Library tab, click on Library Instruction Request. Fill out the section for “Digital media instruction only.”

Faculty Production Assistance

Faculty who need support for high end video production and editing should submit a request with Academic Technology Services.

Reformatting Audio and Video

The studios has analog audio and video equipment and can assist in reformatting old 16mm, VHS tapes, and cassette tapes, in compliance with copyright guidelines.

Check Out Equipment from the First Floor ITS Help & Information Desk

More DMC Information

DMC Staff

Thomas Bary, Digital Media Specialist
Jonathan Iannone, Digital Media Supervisor
Debra Mandel, Acting Associate Dean, User Services

Contact us

Contact Form

Follow Us On


Subject Guide

Debra Mandel
Acting Associate Dean, User Services

320 SL
360 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02115

Related Subject Guides