Skip to main content

Chemistry: Home

A guide to online and print resources in chemistry.

Key Resources

·      SciFinder - provides searching of Chemical Abstracts, 1907 – present.  Simultaneously searches Medline.  Important for a comprehensive literature search.  You must register in order to use SciFinder.

·      American Chemical Society Journals  -- includes 39 high quality, full-text academic journals from the American Chemical Society. Also includes the journals’ archives, with content back to 1936 (and much earlier for some titles).

·      Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development  - an excellent, scholarly encyclopedia, offering the background and explanations not usually found in original research articles.  Comprehensive coverage of traditional areas and recent developments.

·      Nature Journals Online  - the journal Nature is the most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal according to ISI's journal citation reports.  The library's collection of Nature titles now includes a long-awaited acquisition, Nature Chemistry!  See a list of Nature titles in our subscription.

·      Royal Society of Chemistry Journals – collection of full-text academic, high impact journals from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

See also: more chemistry resources for use at Northeastern 

Search tips

For a comprehensive literature search in chemistry, start by searching SciFinder or Web of Science. To do a quick search or to find a few good articles, start by searching or browsing the full text collection of American Chemical Society Journals.

During weekends and evenings, you can get speedy assistance by using the following service:

Research Assistance Desk 

During regular business hours, contact me by phone or email to set up a research consultation.

For in-depth questions, contact me by phone or email to set up a research consultation.

Chemistry news from ScienceDaily

Loading

Reference Source

Ebook

Citing Your Sources

ACS Style Guide--

      available online  

See more information on Citing/Bibliographies

Organic chemistry news

Loading

Research Tools and Tips

Looking for a specific item for which you know the title? Use these quick search tools:

•  Books

Use the Scholar OneSearch Browse search to find books by title or author.

•  Ejournals

Use the Ejournal finder (search by title, e-only).

Databases

Use the A-Z database list.

Feedback?

About This Guide
Email me any feedback you have about this guide -- tell me what's working and what's not.

About the Collection
Send me suggestions for new titles in this subject area.

About the Library
Use the library's Suggestion Box to send us your comments on anything else library-related.

Subject Guide

Kathy Herrlich
Contact:
270 Snell Library
617-373-5305

Local Resources

Green Chemistry

ACS Green Chemistry Institute's 12 Principles of Green Chemistry