Notes
Strictly speaking, most law review articles are not considered peer reviewed articles. That said, law review articles are excellent resources, and some library databases, including Scholar OneSearch, categorize selected law review articles as peer reviewed.
For anyone who wishes to explore further, the Washington and Lee School of Law publishes a well-regarded ranking of law reviews
Selected Sources for Law Reviews
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSearch federal and state court cases, statutes and codes as well as European Union laws and regulations. Secondary sources include the American Law Reports and the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, law reviews, journals, and newspapers.
- Tutorials: Find cases and articles in Westlaw (video) or see a PDF version
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is a rich source of historical legal materials. In addition to large collections of law reviews, cases, Congressional materials, Presidential documents, and state legal resources, this database provides a number of specialized libraries of potential interest.
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch offers one-stop searching for books, e-books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. The default search, Catalog and Articles, is most inclusive. To focus your search on books, e-books, archives, streaming media, and other local resources, select the Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
Selected Sources for Peer Reviewed Articles
A number of the databases listed below also contain peer-reviewed articles. For additional resources, check our list of Article Finding Databases.
See the sample from Scholar OneSearch below which illustrates a search for background information.
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch provides one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in law and related fields. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes Artstor images of art and primary source artifacts.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, including religion, literature, philosophy, cultural studies, women's studies, film and the arts.
- Web of Science, Core Collection 1975-present This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science provides access to articles and citation data for many disciplines, including law and legal studies.
Find background information in Scholar OneSearch
Scholar OneSearch includes the NU Library catalog as well as a wide-ranging article finding tool which covers much of the journal content provided by the Library.
To search the catalog only (books, streaming video, and other content except articles), select Library Catalogs from the drop-down menu at the end of the search box.
To include articles in your search, use the drop-down to select "Library Catalogs and Articles."
