Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Bioengineering: Find Articles

A guide to Snell Library's Bioengineering resources for students, faculty, and staff.

Key Resources: Databases for Bioengineering

Please note:  Use of databases from off-campus requires logging in with your myNEU account user name and password.

PubMed
         More than just medical literature, PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information
          (NCBI) and publishers of life sciences literature. PubMed consists of 26 million citations for biomedical literature from
          Medline, life science journals and online books.

Engineering Village (Includes Compendex and Inspec)

A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. Contains over 9 million records, and references to over 5,000 international sources. including journals, conferences and trade publications, 1969 to present.

Knovel

Primarily e-books, especially handbooks and scientific and engineering reference manuals and data. For certain properties there are specific chemical equations and digital graphs. Analyze data, sort, filter, and export from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'What If' experiments.

Web of Science

Web of Science indexes over 11,000 scholarly journals in the sciences (1975-present). Web of Science's strength is in its interdisciplinary focus and its ability to perform citation searching.  Also works seamlessly with EndNote & EndNote Web citation management software. To learn how to search Web of Science effectively, please see our interactive tutorial

Science Direct

Science Direct is the web site for selected journal titles from the scholarly publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Learn how to download articles directly to your mobile device.

If we don't have it

Try Interlibrary Loan to request books or articles not available at NU.

Featured resource: JoVE

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is a science video resource that includes a variety of resources for use in the classroom and in the lab. It has two components:

  1. Science Education Video CollectionTeaching-focused videos including concept animations, ‘scientist in action’ videos to see concepts applied, and lab manual videos that cover preparation procedures for common labs
  2. Video JournalA peer-reviewed video methods journal, consisting of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols of new and standard methods in physical and life sciences. Students and researchers can see the details of experiments and concepts, in addition to text-based descriptions.

Below are a few links to components of JoVE relevant for Biology:

Finding journal articles

Journal search 

Includes all journals, print & electronic available at NU

All databases

Complete A-Z list of databases

Off-campus access to resources