Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Worker Manual

IDEAS Student Employee Manual

Library Floor Maps

Snell Lower Level

The lower (basement) level of the library is split into two section, both accessible through different entrances.

The entrance to the Snell Library Basement Classrooms (SL 001 – 049) can be found on the front patio outside of the Snell Library main entrance. Unlike most other Snell Library locations classrooms are not accessible inside the library proper.
 
Snell Library Lower Level map, with Snell classrooms locations highlighted.
 
The other section of the lower level is accessible via the main stairwell inside Snell Library. This stairwell can be found directly past the library main entrance gates. 
 
Interior Library Lower Level map highlighting main staircase, International Tutoring Center, Seminar Room, and Archives & Special Collections.
 
This section of the lower level houses our Archives and Special Collections Department (SL 092). This department preserves material such as local historical records and works published my NEU students and faculty throughout the years. The Archives and Special Collections are open by appointment only from Monday through Friday 8:30am to 5:00pm. For more detailed information about this department visit the Archives and Special Collections website.

Across from Archives you will find the International Tutoring Center (SL 088). This room is utilized by NEU tutors to assist global students with learning and improving their English language skills, among over things. 
 
Between these two rooms sits our large seminar room (090) in which special events or lectures may be hosted. NEU Faculty or staff may book this space through the Dean's Office to host events for the NEU community. 

Snell 1st Floor

The 1st floor of the library, like the lower level, is split between a classroom space and a library space. Also like the lower level, these spaces are accessed via separate entrances.

If someone is looking for Snell Library Classrooms (SL 107-125), then they must use the entrance on the western side of the building, near Snell Engineering. If one is facing the main entrance to the library, this classroom entrance can be found around the right side of the patio
Snell Library Level 1 map
 
However, if someone is seeking general library access, they need only to use the Snell Library main entrance; accessible up the stairs from the circular library quad.

The Writing Center is located in room 136 and is open Monday through Friday, 11 AM - 4 PM for walk-in appointments.
Walk-in research help is available Monday through Friday, 11 AM - 3 PM in the office located next to the Help & Information Desk. 

Snell 2nd Floor

The 2nd floor of the library is accessible via the main staircase and elevators.

Snell Library Level 2 map


DIGITAL MEDIA COMMONS (DMC)
The first space you find upon entering the floor will be the Digital Media CommonsThis title encompasses most of the study area on the floor and includes the DMC Help Desk as well as five DMC Group Study Rooms (DMC 1-5). These spaces are managed, staffed and supervised by the ITS department.
 

3D PRINTING STUDIO

Next to the DMC desk is the 3D Printing StudioThis self-managed space is where students and other NEU affiliates can utilize 3D Printing capability for their projects. The 3D Printing Studio is open 9am - 5pm, Monday to Friday.
 

RECORDING STUDIOS (DMC Studios, SL 202 and 203)

On the far side of the 3D Printing Studio are the Recording Studios. There are Audio and Video recording available, as well as equipment for recording and conducting studio session that can be loaned out to patrons. 
 

DIGITAL SCHOLARSHIP COMMONS (SL 211)

Taking a right out of the main staircase can lead a patron to the Digital Scholarship CommonsThe Digital Scholarship Commons is a collaborative, interdisciplinary environment where faculty and doctoral students engaged in research and instruction and share best practices in the use of technology and information resources to support a wide range of research and instructional needs. It is only open to faculty, staff, and doctoral students and requires a Husky card to gain access. This is where the Digital Scholarship Group (DSG), the Center for Advanced Teaching and Learning through Research (CATLR), and Academic Technology Services (ATS) are housed.
 

DATA VISUALISATION & GIS (SL 243)

Students can visit this office to meet with our GIS and Data Visualization specialists. There are bookmarks at the H&I Desk with information about this department's services. They do not help with statistical analysis. 
 

ITS HELP DESK 

This is the upstairs help desk for ITS where patrons should take hardware questions, repair requests, and other ITS questions that are not about checking out AV materials.

 

Snell 3rd Floor

The 3rd floor of the library is accessible via the main staircase and elevators. Previously the location for the library stacks, the third floor is now being used for study space. There are also graduate study rooms, the Office of the Library Dean, and the offices for Information Technology Services. 

Snell Library Level 3 map

Snell 4th Floor

The fourth floor accessible via the main staircase and elevators. It has a number of graduate study rooms, a library meeting room, vending machines, the designated phone space, and lactation room. 

Work Room Map

A map of the work room showing the location of doors, shelves labeled Course Reserves, Holds, ITS, Games, and Law Library. There are also carts labeled Annex, ILL Returns, and MLS Courier, and computers.