What standards does the library have access to?
The library provides access to the following standards. Please note that some subscriptions limit access to one user at a time.
If the standard you need is not available through one of these existing subscriptions, we may be able to purchase it for you using (limited) funds allocated for this purpose. Please see What if the library doesn't have the standard I need? for more information about requesting standards.
Standards Databases:
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowPublications of the American Society for Testing and Materials, including ASTM standards going back to 1998, complete issues of ASTM journals, special technical publications, symposia publications, manuals, monographs, and instructional videos.
Also provides full text access to many UNE and EN versions of ISO and IEC standards. For more information about these alternate versions, please read the Accessing ISO and IEC Standards section of this page.
- IEEEXplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library) This link opens in a new windowAccess to citations and full text from IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards. Includes IEEE Spectrum Magazine, the Now Publishers Foundations and Trends Technology eBooks Engineering and Energy Library.
- MADCAD This link opens in a new windowAn online, searchable library of codes and standards. Our core collection includes access to select ASCE, ASHRAE, and ICC codes, plus USGBC LEED Reference Guides and AISC Steel Design Guides.
- Standards.govLinks to standards organizations that offer free access to their standards.
Individual Standards:
Here are some of the individual standards the library currently subscribes to. These may change from year to year, depending on the needs of faculty and student. If you have questions about a particular standard, please email library_standards_support@northeastern.edu.
Please note that some standards are only available to one user at a time, so if you're not able to access something try logging in again a bit later.
- ACI 318-319: Building Code Requirements for Structural Concrete and CommentaryThird printing: September 2020 with Errata as of January 14, 2021
- AISC Steel Design Guides34 guides containing detailed information on various topics related to structural steel design and construction. Note: to see a full list of available guides, click the link above, then in the Search Book Title box, search 'AISC Design Guide'. If the guide you need is missing, please send a request to j.bolognese@northeastern.edu.
- ASCE Standard 7: Minimum Design Loads and Associate Criteria for Buildings and Other Structures (2022)Wind Loads: Guide to the Wind Load Provisions (2020) of ASCE 7 is also available via our MADCAD.com subscription.
- ASHRAE Essential StandardsASHRAE standards available via MADCAD.com include 15-2019, 52.2-2017, 55-2017, 55-2017, 62.1 and 62.2-2019, 90.1-2019, 90.2-2018, and 135-2016.
- International Code Council (ICC) Codes2021 Codes are available via MADCAD.com. To access them, click on the MADCAD.com link, then in the 'Search Book Title' box enter the title of the code you are looking for.
- TMS 402/602-16 Building Code Requirements and Specifications for Masonry StructuresIncludes Errata through 2018-20-31
- USGBC LEED v4 Reference Guide for Building Design and ConstructionOther LEED v4 Reference Guides available via our MADCAD.com subscription.
Some standards providers offer free or low-cost read-only access to standards on their websites. Lists of providers with links to available standards can be found on the ANSI (American National Standards Institute) website and the NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) website.
Looking for ISO or IEC standards?
The library provides access to many UNE and EN versions of ISO and IEC standards via ASTM Compass (link). This means that the Spanish national standards organization (UNE) and/or the European Union (EN) have adopted the original international standard (from ISO or IEC) for their own use. Please read the Accessing ISO and IEC Standards section of this guide for more information about how to find these standards in ASTM Compass, typical differences between versions, and when the UNE and EN versions are appropriate to use.
Looking for OSHA or other U.S. government-based standards?
For full text access to OSHA and other U.S. government-based standards, use the e-Code of Federal Regulations website, a database of government documents maintained by the U.S. National Archives as an e-version of the annually published official Code of Federal Regulations. The e-version is generally updated within 1-2 days of any changes to the documents.