Get Started
Use the links below to navigate this page.
Key Data and Polling Resources
Library Data and Statistical Services
Data and Statistics
It can be difficult to separate data and statistics into neat, mutually exclusive categories. For this reason, we suggest that you scan both the data sites and the statistical compendia and related resources described in the boxes below.
TIP: A successful search for datasets often begins in a statistical source. Check the notes attached to tables and charts which frequently identify the datasets from which the statistical materials were drawn.
Statista is a unique statistical resource which can be used to identify datasets on a broad range of topics. Example below.
Try the data, statistical, and polling resources provided in the boxes below. If you don't find sufficient information, visit the Social Science Data and Statistics Guide which covers business, economics, demographics, immigation, crime and justice, energy, the environment and sustainability, food and agriculture, health, housing, public opinion, transportation, voting and elections, women and gender, and urban studies.
Key Data and Polling Resources
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data is a collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Sage Data allows you to search and browse millions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Includes the Claritas Consumer Profiles dataset.
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new windowICPSR is a membership based, non-profit data archive located at the University of Michigan; it is one of the world's largest social science archives. Access to datasets and related studies on a wide variety of topics. NU students may set up a myData account to download datasets and supporting documentation.
- Data Citation Index (1900 - current) (Clarivate) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to quality research data from sources around the world in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- Data.govPortal for U.S. government data.
- Bureau of the CensusSee especially Data.Census.gov and the American Community Survey.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a mapping tool for accessing data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs, and more. Supports research about communities across the U.S.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowA mapping and data visualization application including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), CDC PLACES health data, and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data. This resource is limited to 2 users at a time. Registration is required to save work between sessions.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowGeographic resource that brings together a vast and growing amount of quantitative data with an intuitive visual interface to make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive. Access is limited to 5 users at a time.
- BARI (Boston Area Research Initiative)Boston Data Portal, including the Boston Data Library and BostonMap.
- DataBank (World Bank)Analysis and visualization of time series data. See individual links for World Development Indicators and World Governance Indicators.
- IPSA Portal (Statistical and Data Sites)From the International Political Science Association. Describes and links to a number of data repositories and statistical sites.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data is a collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Sage Data allows you to search and browse millions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Includes the Claritas Consumer Profiles dataset.
- UN DataThis site provides access to 35 UN databases, covering a broad range of data from crime to industry to demographics. Offers links to statistical portals of the world's nations.
- UNESCO Data CentreOffers tools to create tables, graphs, and maps.
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new windowA non-profit membership-based data archive based at University of Michigan. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including opinion polling. You must register for a myData account in order to access some reports.
- Eurobarometer (European Commission)Issues polling 1973 to present.
- World Public Opinion (University of Maryland)From the Program for Public Consultation at the University of Maryland.
Key Statistical Resources
- Statista This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of topics and, as such, is an excellent first place to look for statistics. Provides infographics, charts, and statistical reports.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowUnited States statistical handbook, published annually. Available 2013 to the present. For earlier dates, see Bureau of the Census (free site)
- American Community SurveyFrom the Bureau of the Census; an ongoing survey that provides demographic and housing data between Decennial Censuses.
- National Center for Health Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowUnited States statistical handbook, published annually. Available 2013 to the present. For earlier dates, see Bureau of the Census (free site)
- UNESCO Data CentreOffers tools to create tables, graphs, and maps.
- World Bank Open DataSee the World Development Indicator above.
Library Data and Statistical Services
After you've located your datasets or statistics, you may want to consult one of the specialists in our Research Data Services unit for further assistance with services ranging from data visualization to text mining. The links below lead to Guides with information about staff, key resources, and services.
Need more help?
Please contact Roxanne Palmatier and Christine Oka, library partners for the DLP program.