Current news on the Middle East
- Economist This link opens in a new windowWeekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowGlobal news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
- Haaretz (PressReader)Read Haaretz, Israel's daily newspaper of record, in English or Hebrew on a computer or handheld device using PressReader's app or website.
- MideastWire This link opens in a new windowA daily country-by-country summary and translation of news from around the Miiddle East region. Covers news sources from all 22 Arab countries, plus Iran and the Arab diaspora, including key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces.
Additional resources:
- Gaza strip in maps (BBC)Includes population data and information about life in Gaza as well as clear maps and photographs.
- Middle East Studies Association Board Statement on Palestine and IsraelThe October 16, 2023, statement by the Board of the Middle East Studies Association (MESA) condemning the killing of all civilians in Palestine and Israel. The statement asserts that there is no military solution to the conflict and supports "a political solution that offers safety, dignity, and equal rights for Palestinians and Israelis." It also called on universities to "affirmatively assert and protect the right to academic freedom and freedom of speech on their campuses" amidst heightened incidents of violence and intimidation against university students, faculty, and staff based on their identity or views expressed.
- Open Classroom: International Hotspots and the media (video)Northeastern's School of Public Policy and Urban Affairs hosts a conversation about the Israel Hamas conflict and the media. Jill Abramson (Northeastern/former NY Times editor), Bob Davis (WSJ), Rima Farah (Northeastern), Lori Lefkovitz (Northeastern), Dan Lothian (WGBH news), Eve Troutt Powell (Univ. of PA). 11 October 2023.
- Teaching about the Israel-Hamas War (New York Times)A collection of resources (articles, podcasts, lesson plans and prompts, infographics, maps and more) to help students learn more about Hamas’s recent attack on Israel, the dire situation in Gaza, the conflict’s roots, media literacy and more.
Academic Journals and Documents
- Index to Jewish Periodicals WITH Jewish Studies Source (EbscoHOST) This link opens in a new windowFind news and scholarly journal articles relating to Jewish civilization, including contemporary politics, history, and ideas. Includes Israel Studies, Jewish Advocate, Middle East Quarterly, Tikkun, and much more.
- PAIS International plus Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowFind documents and journal articles related to public affairs including political science, international relations, law and diplomacy.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowOne of our more comprehensive databases of journal articles in the social sciences, encompassing political science and related disciplines.
Background
- Arab-Israeli Wars (Encyclopedia Britannica Online) (Opens in new window)
An overview accompanied by article citations and recommended images, video, and websites
The Case for Palestine (2nd ed.) by ISBN: 0822386763Publication Date: 2005-02-08An international law perspective on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, Quigley's seminal book provides an evaluation of the conflict over the last century: the Zionist movement, the League of Nations' decision to promote a Jewish homeland in Palestine, the 1948 war and creation of Israel, and Israel's occupation of the West Bank, Gaza Strip, and Golan Heights.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints: Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
A summary with background and links to news and chronologies.
A Guide to Documents on the Arab-Palestinian/Israeli Conflict, 1897-2008 by ISBN: 9789004175341Publication Date: 2009-04-23A chronology of historic events and a summary of the conflict, followed by a list of key documents and where to find them. (NU Login required)
- Israeli-Palestinian Conflict (CQ: Congressional Quarterly) (Opens in new window)
While dated, this overview for US policymakers is valuable for students of international relations due to its opinion surveys and emphasis on US foreign policy implications. - Primer on Palestine, Israel, and the Arab-Israeli Conflict (MERIP)
An overview of the history and major issues around the Arab-Israeli conflict, including sections on the British Mandate, the Oslo Accords, the Intifadas, and various peace plans and agreements. - Crash course in world history: Conflict in Israel and Palestine (video)
In 13 minutes, John Green gives an overview of the history of the conflct. Balanced, if a little short on information about Gaza.
Search keywords
In Scholar OneSearch, the following words and phrases are used as "Subject Headings," which act as tags useful for finding books and other materials.
- Arab-Israeli Conflict
- Arab-Israeli conflict -- Mass media and the conflict
- Conflict management -- Israel
- Gaza Strip
- Ḥarakat al-Muqāwamah al-Islāmīyah [or Hamas]
- Human rights -- Gaza Strip
- Islam and Politics
- Israel -- Boundaries
- Israel -- Ethnic Relations
- Israel -- Foreign public opinion, American
- Israel -- Foreign Relations
- Jews -- Israel -- Attitudes
- Middle East -- Israel
- Middle East -- Palestine
- Palestine
- Palestinian Arabs
- United States -- Foreign relations -- Middle East OR Middle East -- Foreign relations -- United States
- Zionism