Research Subject Guides: Bouvé Faculty &amp; Staff: Statistics and Data Resources

Dedicated Statistics Guide

It would be difficult to include all possible data sources available on the web and through the library. The guide linked below is an attempt to pull together as many as we have been able to identify. We are sure that there are many more of interest to those in the health sciences. Please let us know of any that you would like to see added.

Statistics for Health Guide
Explores additional options with some duplication of what is on this page.

Library Databases for Stats

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
A non-profit membership-based data archive based at University of Michigan. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. You must register for a myData account in order to access some reports.
InCites - Essential Science Indicators This link opens in a new window
This unique compilation of science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Clarivate
Useful for exploring graduate schools and academic jobs, or for anyone trying to determine what the top schools are in different science disciplines. See this video that shows how to look at highly cited institutions.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
A mapping and data visualization application including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), CDC PLACES health data, and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data. This resource is limited to 2 users at a time. Registration is required to save work between sessions.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Brings together data and graphs on every imaginable topic from business to government, surveys, sports, and scientific topics. Easy to use, exportable charts and data, recommended citations.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
United States statistical handbook, published annually. Available 2013 to the present. For earlier dates, see Bureau of the Census (free site)

Mapping Data

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a mapping tool for accessing data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs, and more. Supports research about communities across the U.S.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Geographic resource that brings together a vast and growing amount of quantitative data with an intuitive visual interface to make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive. Access is limited to 5 users at a time.

We have several databases that include statistics covering various aspects of health along with social determinants. A few are highlighted here.