This is the "Home" page of the "Finding and Creating Permalinks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding and Creating Permalinks  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/permalinks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Permalink?

You may have noticed that sometimes a URL that you copy and paste from a library database doesn't work correctly when you try to access it later. A permalink, also called a persistent or stable URL, removes any session-specific information from those URLs and is a reliable way to access the article or e-book section later.

A proxied URL will ensure that you and others in the Northeastern community can access the URL from anywhere, whether on- or off-campus.

 

Shorten a Permalink

Permalinks can be really long! If you want to provide a shorter link, we recommend using a service like bit.ly.

 

Introduction

Assigning journal articles or book chapters as class readings? Save your students from purchasing a classpack!

First, find out if Northeastern University provides access through its licensed online resources. Then, use permalinks in Blackboard so your students can access the readings from anywhere.

Linking to online readings is the best way to comply with copyright law.

Permalinks also provide reliable future access in many situations.

Use them when emailing colleagues, or in your citation management software!

We have provided instructions in the tabs above for five popular databases.  If you need help creating a permalink in a different resource, contact your subject specialist.

 

Does Northeastern have it?

Search for articles and e-books with Scholar OneSearch:

  

Or, if you already know that your article or e-book is in one of the databases named in a tab at the top of this page, click on the tab to go directly to instructions for that database.

 

What about DOIs?

You may prefer to link to a journal article on the publisher's website rather than through a third-party database. Many journal publishers assign Digital Object Identifiers, or DOIs, to their articles. These are also permalinks. But because they do not contain the library's proxying information, users who are not on campus will not be able to access the full text because the journal's website will not recognize them as subscribers.

Rather than just giving students a DOI, you should add the proxying information as shown in the example below. This will ensure that students are prompted to log in with their myNEU username and password, thus authenticating them as Northeastern affiliates.

Example:

DOI: 10.1126/science.343.6166.14

Proxied DOI:
http://ezproxy.neu.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1126/science.343.6166.14

Make sure that you're able to access the full text of an article through the publisher's website before assigning it as a course reading. You can check our e-journal subscriptions here: http://library.northeastern.edu/ejournals.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip