New! AccessMedicine, AccessPhysiotherapy, AccessPharmacy
![]()
Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy. First, create a My AccessMedicine or MyAccessPharmacy account from an on-site computer by clicking on the link at the top right of the page. Go to AccessMedicine.com on your mobile browser. Enter your My AccessMedicine username/password when prompted.
- AccessMedicinefrom McGraw-Hill Medical is an innovative online resource that provides access to 77 core medical texts, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, USMLE practice questions, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians.
- AccessPhysiotherapya comprehensive full-text online learning tool, featuring 20 core physical therapy texts, 500+ videos and narrated lectures in orthopedics, neurology and sports medicine, demonstrations of examination & treatment techniques. Also includes a cadaver dissection tool, modalities & therapeutic goals, search core topics for interventions, functional limitations, goals, A & A, case studies and more.
- AccessPharmacyAccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource for pharmacy education. The source includes curriculum topics, organ systems, textbooks, drug monographs, lab tests, calculators, videos, case studies, and more.
Snell Library News Summer 2013
New! Check out the Spring 2013 Library Newsletter to learn more about the upcoming changes at the University Libraries.
Read more about Snell Library's new login system.
Library services during Summer 2013 construction.
Links to Basic Library Resources and Services
NuCat (library catalog)
E-journal Listing (includes a list of all e-journals at NU)
All Databases and Trials (complete A-Z list of databases)
Interlibrary Loan (request books or articles not available at NU)
Citation Guides (includes APA, MLA, CSE and more)
EndNote (software for managing your citations)
RefWorks (software for managing your citations)
Online Help (email, chat, texting)
Off-campus Access to Resources
Featured Reference Resource
Encyclopedia of Gerontology
covers the latest research on the study of aging, and explores the many influences that bring change to individuals over the life span. Influences range from genetics to physiology, sociology, psychology and anthropology. 2nd ed. 2007.
New Gerontology Books @ Snell Library
NEW! CINAHL Upgrade! CINAHL Plus with Full Text Now Available!
Our CINAHL subscription has recently been upgraded to the more comprehensive CINAHL Plus with Full-Text, which provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines.
Expanded content includes:
Indexing for 4,995 journals, including virtually all English-language nursing journals and selected titles in biomedicine, consumer health and alternative therapies.
· Full-text for more than 760 journals
· Full-text coverage dating back to 1937
· Full-text for more than 275 books
· Full-text for 360 Research Instruments Records
· Full-text for more than 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets (2 page PDF summaries of treatment care for many conditions, and includes the latest evidence, statistics, research and references).
· Full-text for almost 170 Quick Lessons (2 page PDF summaries for many diseases and conditions, including cause, clinical presentation, assessment, treatment, and references).
· Full-text for more than 160 Continuing Education Units (CEU’s).
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text continues to index nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters, and publications from the American Nurses’ Association and the National League for Nursing.
Welcome to the Snell Library Geriatrics & Gerontology Research Guide
Welcome! This page provides quick access to the most important databases for gerontology research, new health sciences books in the library, and links to Snell Library services. Please use the tabs at the top for additional resources.
Get Help from a Librarian Phone, Text, Chat, Email, Visit.
New Resource: MD Consult tap into trusted, evidence-based medical information for quick answers at the point of care. Search First Consult by medical topics, differential diagnoses, procedures. Includes 50 leading medical texts, 80 journals & Clinics, 1000 practice guidelines, 15,000 patient education handouts, latest drug information, 50,000 high quality medical images, weekly medical news.
AgeLine -- AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population age 50+. Search the literature for aging-related articles on health issues, social gerontology, psychology, sociology, social work, economics & public policy. Indexes 600+ journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides & educational videos.
Searching for Geriatrics/Gerontology Articles by Topic--Best Bets
- AgeLineAgeLine focuses on those aged 50+ and issues of aging. Useful for searching for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine indexes over 600 journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health is the most comprehensive source for full text articles in nursing and several allied health fields from 1937-present. Also indexes nursing dissertations, books, systematic reviews, case studies, proceedings, and more than 100 full-text Evidence-based Care Sheets.
- Cochrane Library (best with Google Chrome)The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Full text
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts Comprehensive index to worldwide pharmaceutical literature. Covers biopharmaceutics and pharmacokinetics, new drug delivery systems, pharmacist liability, and legal, political, and ethical issues.
- Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) Journals@OvidFull text access to over 400 core medical, nursing and pharmacology journals from a variety of publishers. Coverage begins as early as 1993 for some titles.
- MedlineMedline is the most comprehensive and authoritative index to worldwide biomedical, nursing, and dentistry journal literature from 1966 - present. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- PsycINFOPsycINFO is the most comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, technical reports in psychology, and psychological aspects of related disciplines such as nursing, pharmacology, physiology, sociology.
- Scirus.comLocate scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web. Includes a link to SciTopics, which is designed to be a starting point for researchers to gain an introductory overview of a particular topic, while also identifying sources for a more in-depth analysis and coverage of that topic.
- Web of ScienceCitation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, are available in this multidisciplinary database covering 10,000 high impact research journals and 110,000 conference proceedings. Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing your work. Coverage: 1975 to the present.
Contact Sandy |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: nursing, nutrition, physical therapy, physician assistant, speech language pathology, audiology Education: MS Library & Information Science, Simmons College BA Marietta College Associations: ACRL/New England Chapter |
Featured Web Site
- Older Americans 2010 - Key Indicators of Well-BeingProduced by the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics that describe the overall status of the U.S. population age 65 and over.
Locate Books & Media at Other Libraries
If you're looking for a book, periodical or media item, and NU doesn't have it, WorldCat shows you which libraries do. Most North American and public libraries are included.



Loading...
