Here you will find a collection of resources that may prove useful for your research in computer and information science. If you have suggestions for additional content for this guide, don't hesitate to let me know! The Feedback box at the bottom of the right-hand column is a good way to do this.
Feel free to contact me for research assistance -- my contact info is in the profile box at the right. If I'm not available you may also want to try the Library's Ask a Librarian page.
A fully-searchable e-reference library that houses a vast collection of technical books from industry-leading publishers.
Find library resources: books, articles, media, and more. Sign in for full results, and to save your citations.
- ACM Digital Library
Contains full-text access to most ACM periodicals and conference proceedings and contains a large amount of information on gaming and modeling and simulation. Includes information from ACM groups such as SIGGRAPH, and SIGCHI. Some of the ACM publications such as ACM Computers in Entertainment, may be useful. Try a search on Games or Game Design or Game Development and see what you find. Or be more specific in your topic.
- IEEE/IEL Electronic Library/Xplore
NU subscribes to the AbstractPlus records and full text published since 1988 and select content published since 1950 from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, and conference proceedings; IEE journals and conference proceedings; and IEEE standards.
- Compendex and Inspec through EI Village
Abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical literature, with some links to full text.
- Computers and Applied Sciences Complete (EbscoHost)
Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.
- Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies
More than 1,200 reports that help researchers learn about and keep up with the issues, trends, market conditions, products, services, and vendors in the IT and communications industries.
- CiteSeer X
Scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science, and aims to improve the dissemination of and access to scientific literature and scholarly knowledge.
- arXiv.org e-Print Archive
Available to the public, this full-text archive started with physics papers, and now also includes math, computer science, quantitative biology, & statistics. Authors submit material, often from conference proceedings, and often before print publication.
- Business Source Premier (EbscoHost)
Useful for researching business-related aspects of computers and information technology.
- Web of Science
Citation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, are available in this multidisciplinary database covering 8,500 high impact research journals.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine which includes scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines. The criteria for scholarly at Google Scholar does not guarantee that everything found is a “peer reviewed” work, nor is Google Scholar a fully comprehensive resource.
- LISTA: Library and Information Science Abstracts (EbscoHost)
Over 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Topics include librarianship, information management, and more, extending back as far as the mid-1960s.