We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Physics : Interesting Websites
This guide provides a starting point for research in Physics and Astronomy and related disciplines
arXiv.org e-Print archive Available to the public, this archive started with physics papers, and now includes math, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Authors submit material, often from conference proceedings, and often before print publication. (Cornell University, National Science Foundation)
Asteroid Watch, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory This site is meant to provide the public with up-to-date information abour asteroids and to report and monitor orbits of near-earth objects. It provides basic facts about the origin of asteroids and comets, to track how close they come to Earth, and to report about space missions. Updates available through RSS feeds, e-mailalerts and Twitter.
Over 900,000 bibliographic records, including 360,000 fulltext documents, of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more.
DOE:Energy Science and Technology Virtual Library: Energy Files
Access to technical literature from 1998 onwards. See also DOE's E-Print Network includes a broad range of scientific literature produced by government agencies, academic institutions, societies, independent research laboratories, and individuals. Browse by discipline. Please note the site's disclaimers and recommendations about special viewing software.
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
This high-energy physics laboratory, home of the Tevatron particle accelerator, has reports on the latest research on particle physics. This Web site is an extremely valuable resource which is used by scientists around the world.
HubbleSite Out of the ordinary ... Out of this world!
Nobel Laureates in Physics
Exhaustive information on all winners of the Nobel Prize for Physics since 1901. For recent winners, find information including email addresses when available.
PhysLink ‘Physics and astronomy online'. A comprehensive physics and astronomy online education, research and reference website.
PhysNet The worldwide Network of Physics Departments and Documents which provides a set of information services for physicists.
(Brown University High Energy Physics Group) Physics.org
A guide to physics on the web. Totally dedicated to science, physics, and technology news and information; provides forums, discussions, and experts to help with scientific problems/questions.
Physics-Online.Ru An English user-friendly interface to this site from Moscow; includes some documents on lasers originally
published in theformer USSR.
PhysOrg is totally dedicated to science, physics, and technology news and information; provides forums, discussions, and experts to help on scientific problems/questions.
This meta-site provides access to just about every major Web resource including The Living Encyclopedia of Physics, job postings, scholarships and grants, conference calendars, graduate programs, student societies, free downloadable physics software, companies, instrumentation, consulting firms, patent information and more.
Science.gov searches an index of 1850+ agency-selected sites offering authoritative U.S. government science information.
Portal to the Universe Created by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cu7ltural Organization and the International Astronomical Union, claims that it wants to be a "one-stop-shop for astronomy news." Features international astronomical news through images, videos, blogs, audio-video podcasts, and RSS feeds.
Sloan Digital Sky Survey The Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS) is one of the most ambitious and influential surveys in the history of astronomy. Over eight years of operations (2000-2008) it obtained deep, multi-color images covering more than a quarter of the sky and created 3-dimensional maps containing more than 930,000 galaxies and more than 120,000 quasars. SDSS data have been released to the scientific community and the general public in annual increments, with the final public data release occurring in October 2008. That release, Data Release 7, is available through this website.