Skip to main content

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Finding News Sources

A guide to online and print resources for research in women's, gender, and sexuality studies.

Women News Network (WNN)

Loading ...

Current Issues

Docuticker identifies new reports released by think tanks, government agencies, and policy groups.

Try Public Agenda, a nonpartisan, non-profit site that profiles current issues.

Frequently Requested Newspapers Online

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis/Nexis Academic) offers full-text coverage of national, regional, and international newspapers.

Historical Newspapers

Snell Library provides access to selected historical newspaper collections online and on microfilm.

New York Times Article Archive (Current NU Only) - 1851- 2004 The Historical New York Times collection offers both full page and article digital images in PDF format with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Times (London) Digital Archive (Current NU Only)- 1785 to 1985, excepting the Sunday editions.  Microfilm copies of the Times from 1785-1815 and from 1968 to present are available on the second floor of Snell.

Boston Public Library offers rich online and microfilm collections of local and national newspapers. NU students and Massachusetts state residents may apply for a BPL e-card (access to online resources only) or a standard BPL library card which provides both on-site and e-access to resources.

BPL offers online access to America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922) and the Boston Globe (1872-1925).

Additional historical newspaper collections are listed below.

Subject Guide

Brooke Williams's picture
Brooke Williams
Contact:
270 Snell Library
617-373-2363

Search Tip

When searching newspaper databases, it's easy to get inundated with results.  If possible, search for words associated with a specific event, person, trend, or even a slang phrase, rather than general keywords.  For example, instead of "women and working conditions," try "maternity leave."  If you're unfamiliar with a topic, start with a general search and then redo the search when you discover the names of specific people and events associated with it.