About workforce
This page includes articles related to the healthcare workforce in rural areas. Databases, licensed at Northeastern University Library, are recommended for conducting literature searches. Workforce is also tied to education.What initiatives or course programs introduce rural health? The Education page on this guide has more.
Physicians and Healthcare
- Increasing the Rural Physician Workforce: A Potential Role for Small Rural Medical School Campuses (2016)Article: Journal of Rural Health, Vol. 32, Iss. 3, pages 254-259
Requires NU sign-in - Thirty Years Training Rural Physicians: Outcomes From the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine Rural Physician Program (2016)Article in Academic Medicine, January 2016, Volume 91, Iss.1, p 113–119
Requires NU sign-in
Explore more
- List of articles on Physician Retention
Links to a PubMed list, if full text is not available link to the PubMed through NU Libraries
Covid-19 Impact:
- Getting Health Care Was Already Tough In Rural Areas. The Pandemic Has Made It Worse
October 7, 20205:00 AM ET
Heard on Morning Edition
SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES AND OTHER PUBLICATIONS
- CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFor professions that might fall under "allied health", along with nurses. the CINAHL database (Cumulative Index to Allied Health Literature) is focused on publications in those fields.
Nurses and Other Health Professionals
- Always think about the search terms/words that fit your topic best. It can be helpful to write out a question.
Are nurses involved in telehealth in rural areas? Terms: nurses, telehealth (is there a specific aspect of this?), rural area (community, location, remote area, etc)
- Using the suggested terms in CINAHL this search was run: ( nurse or nurses or nursing ) AND ( telehealth or telemedicine or telemonitoring or telepractice or telenursing or telecare ) AND ( rural areas or rural communities )
- it yielded 244 results on 4/7/22
- a review of the results showed promise but I could narrow it down if I am not interested in education or school nurses. These are some of the options to consider.
- Here are a couple titles as examples of results I might choose:
-
Older people and rural eHealth: perceptions of caring relations and their effects on engagement in digital primary health care. in Scandinavian Journal of Caring Sciences, nurse relationships were mentioned as important
-
Meeting the Challenge of Perinatal Care in Rural Communities, in Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing, looking at this article I see that a subject heading "Rural Health Nursing" could be worth using in a search
-
Mental Health: counselors, therapists/social workers
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Associations flagship PsycINFO database includes citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage from 1888 to the present. Full text links for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA select collection of full-text articles in psychology from chiefly peer-reviewed journals.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowincludes several databases education, politics, criminology collections as well as the social science database that covers psychology and social work
- Social Services Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowcurrent research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
Education
- Recruiting Rural Healthcare Providers Today: a Systematic Review of Training Program Success and Determinants of Geographic Choices (2018)Article in Journal of General Internal Medicine, Vol. 3, Iss. 2, 191–199. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11606-017-4210-z
Available in PubMed Central - They Enrolled In Medical School To Practice Rural Medicine. What Happened?Kaiser Health News (2019)
RSS from PubMed: Rural Provider-Patient Relations
Loading ...